We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place - loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1776 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double HHonors Pts.
Ranked #50 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Yorkshire, England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent place - loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights over new year.

Room are huge - bedroom, living room with kitchenette. Comfortable beds, lovely bathroom with good toiletries, two televisions.

Excellent breakfast and delicious free cocktails each evening.

Staff are all helpful and friendly.

Located a pleasant ten minute walk from city centre.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Queues for breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    486
    283
    94
    70
See reviews for
436
220
65
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Bell, PA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

Even though our family is from the Philadelphia suburbs, we were spending time this Thanksgiving with some Philadelphia family members this year, and thought it would be fun to spend Thanksgiving in Philadelphia. The Embassy Suites was a great choice. The location was right on the Thanksgiving Day Parade Route (mainly the Benjamin Franklin Parkway), and although we didn't ask for it, we got a room with a balcony view of the the Parade Route.
Typical Embassy Suites two room suite. Actually, larger than what I expected. Everyone was friendly, great breakfast buffet, nice manager's happy hour, even on Thanksgiving evening.
Easy walk to the subway which we took to see the Eagles beat up on the Cardinals.
Everyone was customer service oriented, including the front desk, valet parking, and housekeeping.
Great experience.

  • Liked — location, breakfast, managers happy hour
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhereinOhio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

We planned this trip to Philly to watch the parade, because our son's high school band was marching in it. We chose the Embassy Suites due to it's location and our preference for this type of suite hotel. We were definitely NOT disappointed. The booking agents were helpful in making sure we had a view of the parade from out room, all the employees we interacted with were so helpful and friendly! Our suite was larger than expected, very clean and comfortable. The bed was great, lots of hot water and good pressure! My only complaint would be about the heating system which is noisy and creates a draft in the living/dining area. The breakfast buffet is in the 2nd floor dining room of the connecting TGIFridays, the food was good, of course being a holiday it was crowded but the staff handled it well, hustling to keep food replenished. If you go, allow plenty of time to get in and out on the elevators, there are only 3 for the hotel and at crowded times like this holiday, there was a bit of a wait! Overall a great experience!

  • Liked — clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — families who bring wild children to the manager's reception!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2008

I stayed here for a convention (at the Convention Center, a nice 10-15 minute walk away) and it was ideal. The suite gave me plenty of room to spread out and work on my laptop, the room was large, and the kitchen was handy (although something better than non-dairy creamer would be good to go with the coffee maker!).

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

I was originally scheduled to stay at the Omni downtown but was bumped at the last minute to another hotel even thought I had booked through starwood directly over a month in advance. I was moved over to the Embassy Suites. I was compelled to write a review because I was completely disappointed that I would not be staying at the Omni. However, my fears were unfounded. Check in was a snap and we actually got to check in @10 am even though check in was officially at 4pm.

The rooms are enormous!!!! They have a balcony and two separate rooms as the word 'suites' would suggest. They also have a free breakfast in the morning and free evening cocktails at night. The towels were soft and the bed comfy. And even the water pressure in the shower was amazing. Not to mention the location is perfect. I could not find fault with a single thing with this hotel and highly recommend it.

My only regret was that we were there for one night and not two....I guess there are worse things :)

Oh the TV in the bedroom did have issues and after several attempts they could not fix it and since the hotel was sold out they opted instead to comp $100 off the room.

  • Liked — room size and comfort
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

Myself and my mother stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and 2 nights respectively (we travelled in between) in September/October 2008 and loved this hotel. Suites are very spacious & spotless and it was brillaint having a separate sitting room and bedroom as if my mother was tired (she is 70) she could have a lie down and I could listen to TV or music in the sitting room without disturbing her.
We found all the staff exceptionally friendly and loved the fact that they all remembered our names, it really makes you feel welcome and the Managers Reception was great.
The breakfast could not be faulted, it was plentiful with a huge varienty -something for even the pickiest of eaters. The area is lovely as well. Philadelphia is quite a small city and very walkable but if you are not inclined to walk the Philly Phlash stops pretty much outside the door. I would definately recommend this hotel and if/when visiting Philadelphia again, this would be my hotel of choice.

  • Liked — The fact that the staff remembered your names
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

The Embassy Suites Center City is a great find. I found a deal through Hotwire that made it an even greater value. It's located right on the Ben Franklin Pkwy, across the street from the cathedral. The pkwy museums are to the left from the hotel, and Love Park and City Hall are to the right. The suites are larger than any I've ever seen in an Embassy Suites. While there is no pool, there is also not the noise that carries up from the typical Embassy Suites Atrium. The furniture is new, the beds have very find linens, all the counters are granite. The room is supplied with plenty of towels. I thought the breakfast was excellent. Lots of choices, including made-to-order omelets, hot and cold cereals, breads, and fresh fruit. Wireless internet in the rooms costs about $10, but there is a business center that has two computers and a printer, which guests can use for free.

  • Liked — Roomy suites, great location
  • Disliked — Wireless internet too expensive
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City

Address: 1776 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suite, full service hotel, TGI Friday's attached to hotel, guest laundry, fitness room, valet parking available. All suites have kitchenette area, balconies with sweeping views of the city, two televisions, two phones, living, dining, work areas, separate bedroom with choice of one king or two double bed. Queen size sleep sofa in living room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Philadelphia
Philadelphia Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.