We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1776 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Buffalo, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Good location, very comfortable bed, ridiculously large room. Happy Hour on Friday had a good vibe with free beer and wine. There's also a complimentary breakfast with lots of offerings from fruit and yogurt, omelets made to order, oatmeal... it's on the second floor of the TGIF connected to the hotel and the space is gloomy and my sneakers were sticking to the floor that sounded like it hadn't been cleaned in ages. Lots of people were digging in and enjoying - but the scene wasn't my cup of tea.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    452
    269
    89
    68
See reviews for
414
212
62
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights for a work convention. We had a double room, which was very spacious. All rooms have a mini fridge as well as a microwave. It is nice to have the sleeping quarters away from the living quarters. Plenty of outlets and mirror space as well. The free, hot breakfast was very good. made to order omlets and plenty of other hot items,toast, bagels, muffins, oatmeal, ect. The managers cocktail reception every night was nice as well! It was nice to be able to walk to the convention center and other places as well. I would reccommend this hotel for sure. The only down side is having to use your room key to operate the elevators, but I am assuming this is a securuty feature.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at embassy suites center city of several days Had king suites which was a very large 2 room suite. Room was dated but very comfortable. Location was in walking distance to convention center and art museum. Had a big cook to order breakfast actually in the TGIFriday on site. Managers reception each day at 5:30 pm. Snacks and drinks.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa Park, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My daugher and I spent a night at the Embassy Suites Center City in February while visiting a college. I actually booked this room using a Groupon I purchased and received a fantastic deal. The check in was fast and easy. I was nicely suprised when I saw the room. It was a 2 room suite and it was quite spacious. It consisted on a full kitchen and living room combo with a large flat screen tv and a table and chairs. The bedroom was also a nice size with another flat screen tv. The kitchen was stocked with coffee, tea and microwave popcorn. The room was clean and although could have used a little more updating was absolutely fine. The room had a great view of Benjamin Franklin Parkway and really looked great at night. The hotel offers a complimentary reception in the evening, 4 to 6 pm with hot food and beverages. Attached to the hotel is a TGI Fridays restaurant and upon check in are given complimentary vouchers for a buffet breakfast, which was very nice. Definitely enough selection.

The hotel was located in a very nice location, across the street from the Art Museum, The Franklin Institue, Basilicia of St. Peter & Paul and the Public Library. We took a walking tour and managed to see much of the city. We ended our walk at Chinatown where we enjoyed a delicious dinner and met some really nice people who lived in the city and gave us lots of info.

The hotel does charge around $45.00 (including tax) to park your car via valet parking. I did google private parking lots in the area and for the $20 difference it really didn't pay for me to park several blocks away. We arrived during a rain downpour and for the convenience was really worth it.

When I visit Philadelphia again I would definitely stay here. Even without a Groupon, the rates are substantially lower that othe hotels in the area. Definitely a good buy in a great city!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, PA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Arrived in the early evening and was directed to the manager's reception for snacks and free drinks. The snacks were nothing exciting but it was a nice surprise to have an open bar. We had picked this location simply because it was the cheapest price for the night.

Room was a non-smoking king with a view of Ben Franklin Parkway. It was clean and very spacious, including 2 big TVs, balcony, fridge, and microwave. Breakfast buffet at TGI Friday's was included and pretty good.

Overall, very impressed for the location and price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briarcliff Manor, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel and we enjoyed it even more than the first time. Our check in was efficient, our room key was ready and wating for us and the front desk personnel smiling and professional . The suites are generously sized (enough space for us, 2 adults and 3 teens)and very clean. We called for extra towels and pillows and they arrived within 5 minutes. We enjoyed both the beverage service in the evening and the breakfast service the following morning. The breakfast featured enough selection to please everyone.
We would stay here again. ps..I hit the circle for rating the pool below but don't know if the hotel has a pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montclair, new jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed here overnight and have stayed in this hotel before for the marathon. This hotel was a perfect location for the marathon--all within walking distance from the start to finish. It also works for an overnight stay. My rate for the non-smoking king (not a city view) was only $160 which was pretty good compared to the other hotels which were >$200. I think it was also good for the price since there was a free breakfast buffet and the room amenities included a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. The room also offered 2 flat screen TVs, a balcony and a dining room set in room. This room was also very clean.

I have very minor complaints about this hotel: our room was not ready when we checked in and they told us that they would call and they never did (so please call them if they don't call you), I did not see a safe in the room, the bed seemed to be a queen and checking in could possibly be a problem if a mass of people come at the same time when there are only 2 people in the reception area which seems rather small for a hotel this size.

You can walk to many sites from this hotel, there are two 7-elevens by the hotel, and there are many parking garages in the area. I got a coupon for Central Parking's Kennedy House on 54 North 19th St and paid $17.50 (11am to 4pm the next day). I also took the Philadelphia sight seeing tour bus ($27/24 hours) which you can hop on and off for 24 hours and you would not need to take your car anywhere. This takes you to 27 sites-Zoo, Terminal Market, Please Touch Museum, Chinatown, Liberty Bell and the list goes on. You can visit the Sister's Park visitor's center (18th and the Benjamin Franklin Parkway) is by the Cathedral of St Peter and Paul and buy these tickets as well as to other Philly attractions. You can even sit and enjoy a cup of coffee before the next bus arrives.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City

Address: 1776 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#47 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suite, full service hotel, TGI Friday's attached to hotel, guest laundry, fitness room, valet parking available. All suites have kitchenette area, balconies with sweeping views of the city, two televisions, two phones, living, dining, work areas, separate bedroom with choice of one king or two double bed. Queen size sleep sofa in living room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Philadelphia
Philadelphia Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.