We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleased With Our Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1776 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double HHonors Pts.
Ranked #50 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Barnegat, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleased With Our Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating his birthday (a noteworthy one) and decided it would be fun to play tourist in Philadelphia. He picked the Embassy Suites due to its location - walking distance to The Barnes Museum and the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts. We arrived on April 3rd and left on April 5th. Peggy at the front desk was wonderful - thank you Peggy for your kindness. All the staff was cordial and the room was as described. The room was nicely appointed and very clean - I look everywhere (read some of my other reviews). We were on the 27th floor with a wonderful view of Logan Circle and the Ben Franklin Parkway leading to the Art Museum. We enjoyed the free drinks and snacks from 5:30 to 7:00 each evening and the full breakfast in the morning. The only area that could use a touch of sprucing up is the restaurant on the second floor. The wood is a bit banged up, etc. and the outside rooftop area that the restaurant looks out onto could use a good sweeping - a bit of leaves and other detritus blowing around out there - it would take just a few minutes. One more suggestion I'd make is to find a way to ensure that guests are aware that they need to present their breakfast vouchers to the hostess. I felt sorry for the hostess when each morning she had to contend with guests that had forgotten their vouchers and whined and griped when they had to go back to their room and get the voucher. Some guests were "high and mighty" and were not very nice to the hostess who is just doing her job. Maybe a photocopied flyer left in the room on the dining table with the magazines. All in all, we had a wonderful stay and would recommend the Embassy Suites to friends and family.

Room Tip: We were in 2701 next to the elevator and never heard a thing - very soundproof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    486
    283
    94
    70
See reviews for
436
220
65
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The suites are very large, clean and quiet, and the staff is very pleasant. The complimentary breakfast is quite good, and I love the free internet. The location in Logan Square is fantastic if you're headed to the museums and Eastern State Penitentiary. Hotel parking is ridiculously expensive but there are some on-street parking spaces and lower-cost lots on Arch Street. I agree with another reviewer that the hotel is a bit worn and could benefit from updating. And why are the pillows so teeny tiny?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

If you are going to Philly for some fun and museums or sight-seeing, I recommend this Embassy Suites hotel, as it is centrally located downtown and close to all of the tourist attractions. Staff is helpful and friendly. Walkable to many places, including the Franklin Institute which was also very enjoyable. It was a short cab ride to the Philadelphia Zoo and the Aquarium, which was actually in New Jersey. Walked to Liberty Bell and tour buses, about 6 blocks away from this nice hotel. The evening manager's reception was especially nice at the end of a busy but tiring day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had stayed at this property before w/o issues. However, not the case on the weekend of 3/15-17/13. We had a family reunion and I rented 4 suites. When my daughter arrived, she opened the door to find the room occupied by a maintainence man and his family, with his children on the bed! He said, "Honey, the occupant has arrived, get the kids and let's go."
In addition, when the rooms were made up on 3/16, the dirty towels were taken, but none of our 4 roooms received any wash cloths, bath or hand towels-had to call housekeeping to bring them Saturday night after we returned! I had already talked to the front desk on Fiday about the room being occupied and messed up on my daughter's arrival and the desk manager told me I would be getting a call. I never received one. When I complained on Sunday moring about the poor housekeeping, again I was told I would get a call. Again, i never received one. Obviously, this property needs some oversite. John Camp, Charlotte, NC

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for an upgraded suite- they are ALL exactly the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Camp,
I sincerely apologize for the unfortunate situation you and your family experienced while staying with us. I've addressed our staff members in regards to your review and the necessary actions have been taken. Again, I apologize for all of the inconveniences and if you would like to discuss your stay further, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. Thanks for your honest feedback. Have a Great Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The rooms are beautiful, roomy and quiet. The furnishings and bathroom fixtures must be new and are very elegant. The kitchenette is much larger than your typical embassy Suites. The bedroom is in the back of the room and is very quiet. The only challenge is waiting for the elevator. There is no poor if you want a pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Florida
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have stayed at this property several times over the years, most recently for the yearly Philly Marathon weekend. Last November, I was shocked at how wonderful a particular manager handled my special request to avoid having to move to the Embassy Suites Airport for one night. She listened to my request, looked at the occupancy and in no time figured out a way to allow me to stay in my current room for the full 3 days. I am so very sad I did not write down her name, but as I never forget a friendly face, I will look forward to thanking her again this year when in town for the 2013 Philly Marathon.

The other good news is that once again, the room was huge, clean, and bed superbly comfortable. The view of Ben Franklin parkway was stellar, especially to watch the race weekend excitement.

Room Tip: They are all fantastic rooms, tho a high floor tends to have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We recently returned from a 6 day trip to the fabulous city of Brotherly Love where we were lucky enough to stay in this wonderful hotel. Cannot fathom the oft negative reviews of this hotel - perhaps people are a little bit too fussy??

Can't find negatives to report of in any area of the hotel. The suite itself was massive with a well appointed living area, a kitchen type area with microwave oven and a Fridge, a clean and modern bathroom, a well lit dressing area and a good sized bedroom with two sumptuously comfy beds which my Girlfriend commented on being the most comfortable bed she had ever slept on as she suffers from chronic pain. The icing on the cake though were the balconies which provided a starlit view of the surrounding skyscrapers (providing you ain't scared of heights)

Breakfasts in American Hotels often leave a lot to be desired and quite often consist of one limp donut accompanied with a cup of weak and lousy coffee - need not fear at the Embassy, oh no, in fact the breakfast here was by far the most impressive we have seen at any American hotel with a varied choice ranging from a selection of cooked breakfast items, fruits and yoghurts, a varied selection of cakes and pastries and a cook to order Omelet station.

The service from the staff employed in all capacities was faultless. From the minute we checked in to the minute we departed everyone was so friendly, warm and approachable and nothing was ever too much trouble. Special praise to both Jackie and Whitney on the front desks who catered to our requests with a smile. Also praise to the chap manning the bar who remembered my choice of beverage 'Vodka and OJ!' Speaking of the bar, another perk the hotel offers is complimentary drinks between 5-8 ( i think) where you can choose from a selection of drafts and well drinks - this is not the sort of perk you encounter in most hotels and was a pleasant surprise.

All in all an excellent stay and one i would highly recommend to anyone looking for a reasonably priced stay in a top class hotel a mere 10 minute walk from the centre of town.

Philly was a real surprise and somewhere different from the usual NYC and Chicago. We really liked the place. The people are very welcoming and down to earth, the food excellent and lots of decent dive bars.

Thanks Embassy Suites!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City

Address: 1776 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#39 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suite, full service hotel, TGI Friday's attached to hotel, guest laundry, fitness room, valet parking available. All suites have kitchenette area, balconies with sweeping views of the city, two televisions, two phones, living, dining, work areas, separate bedroom with choice of one king or two double bed. Queen size sleep sofa in living room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Philadelphia
Philadelphia Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.