We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit worn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1776 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Package
Ranked #46 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A bit worn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed for the third time, the experience has been the same each time. It's a physically old hotel, a bit worn around the edges. The good news is that the rooms are quite large, bed very comfortable, generally quiet. Pillows sort of thin. Breakfast (included) at the attached TGIF was not up to a Hilton standard. Small fruit selection, a few grocery-store-discount-pastries, dried up eggs, .... Not terrible, but not great either. Wifi was fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with your stay. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We want you to know that we have addressed our team members in regards to your review, and we will correct all issues mentioned. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time your travels bring you to Philadelphia. We would love another chance to provide a great stay for you in the future.

Regards,

David Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    378
    215
    72
    56
See reviews for
326
176
56
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The room and furnishings were very comfortable. It was spacious and very well-equipped. The view of the city from our balcony was outstanding. The manager's reception upon arrival was a nice touch. We would definitely stay here again. The only thing that could use improvement was the breakfast but other than that, everything was top-notch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a rotunda style building, with 3 elevators in the center of the building that were sometimes slow to come, but generally available. The hotel is relatively small, with limited facilities, no pool, and a merely adequate fitness center. The rooms on the other hand fan out from the 15 feet center circumference to the exterior circumference of the building, so they are much larger than the typical rectangular configuration at most Embassy Suites. This allows the living room area to accommodate the kitchen, pull out sofa, very large desk, and dining table, with very generous room to spare, even with the addition of a roll away bed. Parents will also appreciate the configuration that affords the bedroom realistic privacy from the rest of the unit, as well as two balconies, one for the main area and a smaller one for the private bedroom. The view can be spectacular on the higher floors, depending on which way you are facing.

The facility and room décor is somewhat old and tired, yet well reasonably maintained and clean, with the exception of some nooks and crannies that upon closer inspection don’t seem to have been reached by the cleaning crew in a very long time.

The staff was generally exemplary (truly some go-out-of-their-way-to-help-you people), with the exception of just one or two stoic employees at the front desk.

Parking is valet only and expect to pay half of your room rate per day just for parking and tipping, depending on what your room rate is.

Included breakfast, served in the adjoining TGIF’s, is adequate, but somewhat of a boondoggle because of too little space to accommodate the volume of guests. The buffet serving areas are congested and difficult to maneuver, even with normal traffic, and seating was hard to get altogether during peak traffic.

Still, with all this, at the end of the day if you are looking for location, value, large rooms, and a nice staff, this is REALLY hard to beat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is in the center of everything and certainly a place I would want to stay when I return to Philadelphia. Room was well equipped; great view; loved having the kitchen. The complimentary breakfast at TGIF each morning is a one of the best. The hotel is smack in city center so we were able to walk everywhere. We even took the train from the airport and walked from the station to the hotel. Over the next 2 days we easily walked to the various sightseeing points-of-interest. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Embassy Suites in Center City. The room was clean, spacious, and well-equipped (refrigerator, microwave, sink). We enjoyed the design of the hotel. No long, eerily quiet hallways. Rooms are organized in a cul-de-sac formation. Each room has access to three elevators. Full breakfast is available each morning.
The only criticism was the cost for parking our cars. There should have been a better rate for hotel guests. The valet service was quite efficient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Was a little skeptical when booking as there were plenty of unfavorable reviews, but generally speaking, Embassy Suites is a nice chain. Close to many city attractions and the subway. Choices of restaurants was endless, all within walking distance, not to mention a short ride on the subway to Old City and the wonderful restaurants there! I must say that my review of the hotel itself is very satisfactory. We had a 2 room suite as our grandchildren (ages 8,6, and 3) spent a lot of time with us. Very pleasant, professional and helpful staff. More than adequate space and a great view of Logan Circle and the Art Museum from our 20th floor room. Breakfast was not 5 star, but certainly adequate, never too crowded, and plenty of food to choose from.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaque, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Looking at the map I knew this was going to be a great location - after staying there I was pleased to find every place we wanted to go was within walking distance. The rooms were large and great for the kids. We had reserved two doubles but the front desk changed it to a king with no problem and the kids slept on the fold out couch. I read all of the reviews prior to going to the hotel and I was a little bit worried, we purchased the stay via groupon. Some of the comments were true – there always seemed to be a line for checking in, the elevators were slow, the rooms were a little dated. Nonetheless the hotel was acceptable, clean, the furniture in the rooms was fine, the staff was friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was a little crazy/crowded but the food was good and you cannot beat the price (FREE). Every night there was a managers reception with beer, liquor or wine and light snacks – yes it was also crowded but again for the price (FREE) it was manageable. We parked the car at a garage just around the corner and paid $30 for 24 hours instead of $45 the hotel wanted. The TV in the bedroom had a signal issue occasionally but turning it off and back on corrected the issue – we didn’t watch much TV while there – both of the TVs were newer flat screens. There was a mini refrigerator, sink, and microwave in the kitchenette. It is true that the only ice maker is on the second floor.

Room Tip: We stayed in ##10 so the rooms ending in 10 are facing the art museum and are the rooms with the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City

Address: 1776 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suite, full service hotel, TGI Friday's attached to hotel, guest laundry, fitness room, valet parking available. All suites have kitchenette area, balconies with sweeping views of the city, two televisions, two phones, living, dining, work areas, separate bedroom with choice of one king or two double bed. Queen size sleep sofa in living room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Philadelphia
Philadelphia Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.