We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Philly Stay at the Embassy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1776 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Package
Ranked #50 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Decatur, Alabama
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Philly Stay at the Embassy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Embassy Suites in Philly. We love Embassy Suites and try to stay at them when we travel if we can. This Embassy is a bit different. For one thing...it is round! It used to be apartments and was converted to hotel rooms. The suites are very roomy and each has a balcony. There is no furniture on the balcony and I would suggest that they add a couple of chairs. The beds are comfortable and as with all Embassy Suites, you have a small kitchenette. One thing I don't like about Embassy Suites is that they don't have free WiFi, however I received free WiFi as a Hilton Honors member.

One of the things that I liked about this Embassy Suites was the service. Peggy, at the front desk was very helpful. We asked about a place to watch a ball game and she printed out all the places around and described each one. When we checked in, she reminded us that the manager's reception was about to end so if we wanted some fresh pretzels and a drink, we could leave our luggage right there and walk around the corner. What hospitality!

When we got to the bar, Darryl greeted us with a smile and jokingly asked me for my ID, he was a charmer and was friendly and jovial to all.

Lastly, this place is near most everything you want to do. It is a very good location. We were able to walk wherever we needed to go. Philly is a walking city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    420
    254
    83
    64
See reviews for
386
199
60
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Nice big suite BUT the noise from the heating system as well as the automatic fan in the bathroom were so loud it was not bearable . When I complained to the front desk they went through the motion to tell me they would send an engineer but I guess he/she could not do anything because the problem remained.
Complimentary Breakfast was plentiful but the breakfast room has seen better days

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and sharing feedback on your experience via TripAdvisor. I’m sorry you experienced noise with your heater and bathroom fan during your stay. Our maintenance staff works diligently to keep them in excellent, quiet condition and we are sorry to hear this was not your experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in Philadelphia. We’d love to make your stay with us the best hotel experience possible.

Thank you,

David Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a strange hotel - a circular high rise with multiple elevators in different locations on each floor. I was always turned around. The rooms are fairly roomy - like all Embassy Suites. It's a decent location in downtown Philly. Parking was sort of a pain. The cost to park was about $40 per night. When we pulled up late Friday night to check in, the parking attendant told us to go park in a garage around the corner and it would only be $9. My husband did that, but he ended up paying $40 anyway the next day to get out! There is some fine print we did not understand about having to be out by 7am the next day to get the "deal." I think the guy just didn't want to hassle with parking our car late at night.

The breakfast is in the Friday's restaurant that is inside the hotel. It was fine - good selection. The room was adequate. Certainly not luxurious but adequate. There were many weddings going on the weekend we were there - so there was always a very long wait for elevators. We were on a high floor so walking down with our luggage was not an option.

I probably would stay there again for a weekend in Philly, but there are better places. However, you get what you pay for and for our family of four, with breakfast included, it was a decent value.

Room Tip: I'd try to get a room on a lower floor in case it's jammed and you have to end up walking do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent visit with us in Philadelphia. We are glad to hear we were able to meet your family’s needs however we are sorry we did not exceed them. We will take your comments on our parking policies, breakfast service, and elevator efficiency into account as we continuously work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again and experiencing a hopefully improved quality of hospitality should your family return to the area.

Thank you,

David Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Nice place to stay for business, big rooms, comfortable beds, good location and every room has a balcony. My only complaint is that free Wifi is only available in the business center on the 2nd floor. They do have a Manger's happy hour every day and the bartender pours a nice drink! There is a Friday's located in the same building and fantastic restaurants and pubs/bars all within walking distance of the hotel. You can't beat the location.

Room Tip: If you want to stock your fridge with snacks & drinks or need toiletries, etc., just walk up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax Ns
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Location is superb, hotel is located on Benjamin Franklin Parkway, between the Museuem of Art(Rocky Staue area), and City Hall. Several dining places and pubs are located nearby. Breakfast was included and was hosted in attached Smitty's, buffet style with a wide variety of options. They also make omlettes to order. There was plenty of room for 5 of us, also included kitchenette , a nice balcony and seperate bedroom. Beds were doubles, which made it cosy.

Room Tip: For a group this is especially good location and excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent two nights here for a ladies weekend . Location was very walkable to restaurants, shopping, and the historic area. Beds were very comfortable and room was clean. Biggest downside was the elevators - small and not enough for this large hotel. Spent to much time waiting. Would stay here again .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

For over $300 per night you would expect reduced parking, delicious breakfast and good accommodations. Unfortunately, staying over one Friday night in October at the Embassy Suites, dispelled our concept of what we could expect for $300. Plus, while we requested a non smoking room, we were placed in a room that obviously had been used as a smoking room, and we were told that this was the only room available.
We will not stay at Embassy Suites ever again.
The location in Center City was great but otherwise this property deserves a failing grade.

Room Tip: We were told that since we booked the room on a hotel discount website we had to take the room they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you did not find value in your experience at our property. Please accept our apology for the unpleasant smell in your room, we are currently working towards converting to a 100% non-smoking property and are in the process of freshening all of our spaces. We will take note of your room and be sure to address it. We value your input as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future so we can show you the true value in our hotel.

Thank you,

D. Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City

Address: 1776 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suite, full service hotel, TGI Friday's attached to hotel, guest laundry, fitness room, valet parking available. All suites have kitchenette area, balconies with sweeping views of the city, two televisions, two phones, living, dining, work areas, separate bedroom with choice of one king or two double bed. Queen size sleep sofa in living room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Philadelphia
Philadelphia Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.