We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1776 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Package
Ranked #44 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Nice place to stay for business, big rooms, comfortable beds, good location and every room has a balcony. My only complaint is that free Wifi is only available in the business center on the 2nd floor. They do have a Manger's happy hour every day and the bartender pours a nice drink! There is a Friday's located in the same building and fantastic restaurants and pubs/bars all within walking distance of the hotel. You can't beat the location.

Room Tip: If you want to stock your fridge with snacks & drinks or need toiletries, etc., just walk up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    383
    222
    74
    56
See reviews for
337
178
56
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax Ns
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Location is superb, hotel is located on Benjamin Franklin Parkway, between the Museuem of Art(Rocky Staue area), and City Hall. Several dining places and pubs are located nearby. Breakfast was included and was hosted in attached Smitty's, buffet style with a wide variety of options. They also make omlettes to order. There was plenty of room for 5 of us, also included kitchenette , a nice balcony and seperate bedroom. Beds were doubles, which made it cosy.

Room Tip: For a group this is especially good location and excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent two nights here for a ladies weekend . Location was very walkable to restaurants, shopping, and the historic area. Beds were very comfortable and room was clean. Biggest downside was the elevators - small and not enough for this large hotel. Spent to much time waiting. Would stay here again .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

For over $300 per night you would expect reduced parking, delicious breakfast and good accommodations. Unfortunately, staying over one Friday night in October at the Embassy Suites, dispelled our concept of what we could expect for $300. Plus, while we requested a non smoking room, we were placed in a room that obviously had been used as a smoking room, and we were told that this was the only room available.
We will not stay at Embassy Suites ever again.
The location in Center City was great but otherwise this property deserves a failing grade.

Room Tip: We were told that since we booked the room on a hotel discount website we had to take the room they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you did not find value in your experience at our property. Please accept our apology for the unpleasant smell in your room, we are currently working towards converting to a 100% non-smoking property and are in the process of freshening all of our spaces. We will take note of your room and be sure to address it. We value your input as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future so we can show you the true value in our hotel.

Thank you,

D. Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This Embassy Suites is perfectly located. We were in easy-walking-distance of the Museum of Art, Rodin Museum, Cathedral, City Hall, Suburban Street Station, Fairmont Park. There are dozens of restaurants within a 4-5 block range.

Our suite was spacious. The living area is among the biggest I've ever seen in an Embassy Suites. We have a small microwave and fridge. The beds are extremely comfortable. And we have two balconys---since I'm scared of heights, they didn't get much use but it was a nice place to watch the city come alive in the morning while checking the weather.

The staff is very friendly and helpful--from the desk staff to the housekeeping staff to the staff in the restaurant (although they did seem to be overworked at breakfast.)

I enjoyed my free breakfast; the oatmeal was good and the variety was plenty. The line was long for the omelets--so I skipped that. We went late and the place was crawling with people--so that was one of the few things I didn't like.

The other big problem are the elevators. They run slow--and they're very noisy at night. I could hear them in the living room--but, fortunately, not in the bedroom.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hotel corridors and lobby are very cold; we were there in September. The breakfast is in a Fridays and was the worst "free" breakfast that I had at an Embassy. Again it was cold in the restaurant, the toaster was awful; sausage and other foods on the buffet were dried out; lack of personnel, etc. The "happy hour: again awful; the appetizers consisted of stale potato chips, cheese curls, etc. These are not appetizers. We stayed at many Embassy suites; this was the worst ever.
This Embassy needs a make over or a manager that cares about it. On the up side, the valet service was great and personnel very helpful.

Room Tip: On the higher levels; beautiful view and elevators were fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David F, General Manager at Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We regret we were not able to provide you with the breakfast and manager’s reception you expected. The complimentary, cooked-to-order breakfast as well as evening reception, are comprised of a variety of hot and cold food items, but we are constantly looking for ways to improve the guest experience, and as a brand, are looking at additional items we could include. We appreciate your input and will take it under consideration. I have also shared your comments with the management of TGI Fridays. On your next visit to the area, I hope you consider staying with us again so we can demonstrate the excellent service and hospitality we are known for.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for a convention. It was clean and inviting. The room was large, and had a nice balcony. I would stay here again. I did not eat the breakfast either day, but those that did looked happy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City

Address: 1776 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suite, full service hotel, TGI Friday's attached to hotel, guest laundry, fitness room, valet parking available. All suites have kitchenette area, balconies with sweeping views of the city, two televisions, two phones, living, dining, work areas, separate bedroom with choice of one king or two double bed. Queen size sleep sofa in living room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Philadelphia
Philadelphia Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.