We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing - Run down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Airport

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9000 Bartram Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19153   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
HHonors Double Points
Ranked #44 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Northwest
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing - Run down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2007

First, I am a big fan of Embassy Suites. When traveling with two children you can't beat the separate bedroom and cook to order breakfast. I was very disappointed in the PHL airport property. In general our room was dirty (mold and hair in the tub), the pull out bed was broken (the springs were bent and would not attach to support
the mattress - thank goodness my kids are still very light). The carpet was pretty worn and frayed at several seams. At check-in there
was a chicken bone in the elevator and at check-out the next day the same bone was out in front of the elevator. Hotel staff had both been
on the elevator and walked past the litter multiple times. The dinning area was dirty with sticky tables and indifferent staff. I completed an on-line survey with Embassy Suites over a week ago and have not heard anything in response. Still a big fan of this chain just not this property.

  • Liked — Location to airport and shuttle service
  • Disliked — Not clean
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    153
    96
    77
    49
See reviews for
197
92
38
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2007

Stayed for one night prior to flying out of PHL airport. Room was clean except for table which was sticky. Our main disappointment was that the walls are paper thin. Unfortunately there was a party going on in the room next to ours, so we did not get much sleep. By 5:30am it just sounded like 2 people talking, yet we could still hear them.

We booked a room with a king size bed through a discount site (can't remember if it was travelocity, expedia, orbitz, or hotel.com). They upgraded us to a room with two double beds for free, though i did not get the feeling that they routinely do this. All of the websites had about the same price, yet some charge $20 more for a second person, so it pays to check all of them.

Also, we called the hotel several times to check this, when you book the hotel through another website (other than their's) you can leave your car there while you travel, regardless of whether or not you've booked a park & fly rate or package. If you book directly through the hotel, you must book the park & fly rate. They did not take our license plate number or require us to put anything on our car, so I don't know that parking is even monitored.

The breakfast had both buffet items and cooked to order items. It opened at 7am on a Saturday and the line had formed before 7. They were late opening the cooked to order section and did not get that opened up until 7:10am. I was the 6th person in line to have an omelet made and missed the 7:30am shuttle as a result. Food available that I recall was: scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, omelets, cereal, yogurt, bagels, toast.

The manager's reception is early, so if you are arriving later in the evening, you will miss this. Also, check what time the breakfast opens the day you will be there so you are sure you will be able to take advantage of this

We would probably stay here again, but definitely would request a room near the least amount of people, or call the front desk if people were that loud again.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2007

We booked two king rooms at the Embassy Suites for an overnight stay prior to an early morning flight out of PHL.

My observations –
1. Good staff that was helpful with questions
2. Evening reception was a nice extra – light snacks and open bar, friendly servers who were happy to keep the drinks flowing
3. Decent food in the lounge – there is only one other restaurant in the general area (a chain)
4. Muffins, coffee and juice were available at 5 am.
5. Shuttle to the airport runs every half hour but picks up when you call from airport
6. Rooms are a little tired but clean.
7. Free parking for one night. Parking for up to 10 days is extra yet you are not required to register your car, so how do they know who paid and who sneaks their car in for free?

We do sleep and fly most times we travel. This Embassy was on par with other airport hotels.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2006

My husband and I stayed and the Embassy Suites one night in November (2006).

Pros:
Staff - Friendly and approachable.

The Room - Quiet, comfortable and spacious. The bed with six fluffy white pillows was awesome. I slept better than ever. To my surprise, the suite had a microwave and refrigerator.

Breakfast - The complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast was wonderful.

Cons:
Embassy Grille - The food was overpriced and not enjoyable. My husband was looking forward to the pasta prima vera, while I ordered one of my all-time favorite things: lobster bisque soup (plus a Caesar Salad). The lobster bisque soup tasted more like tomato bisque and hadn't a shred of lobster in it. We were both so disappointed and left completely unsatisfied. My advice is to ask for order from their "late night" menu which would have been less expensive. Apparently this menu has Philly cheese steak sandwiches and the like.

Location - A taxi ride to anywhere will cost you a fortune. My suggestion (since there is a microwave and refrigerator): Bring your own drinks and snacks.

Bathroom - The bathroom definitely needed some attention. It looked a bit run down compared to the rest of the room.

  • Liked — The comfy bed and quietness of the room.
  • Disliked — The Embassy Grille
  • Tips/Secrets — Embassy Grille - Ask for the "Late Night" menu for a better value, and hopefully better food.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2006

We stayed at this Embassy Suites before a flight the next morning. Since our flight was not leaving until 9:30 AM we felt the Embassy would be a good choice as we would have time to eat their breakfast. Also the reviews on this site steered us to this hotel. The hotel was adequate. The suites were two rooms, but each room is small, altho if traveling with children it would be more appreciated. The hotel was sold out on the night we were there, so there was a lot of noise and commotion in the lobby area and breakfast was full. We encountered no problems, but will probably return to the Renaissance next month when we again fly from this airport. Overall, it depends what you are looking for in an airport hotel. We would prefer a larger bedroom and have no need for a separate sitting area or kitchenette.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small rooms in suites
  • Tips/Secrets — none
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2006

Recently stayed at this property for a bachelorette party in Philly. We arrived at 5pm, and although check in was at 3pm a room was not ready for us. The front desk clerk said 10 minutes, and in 10 minutes we had our room. The atrium of the hotel was nice, with a sitting area and pond with koi and ducks. One thing we immediately noticed was that there were a TON of unsupervised poorly behaved kids running soaking wet through the lobby, playing on the elevators, and screaming in the halls. The managers reception left a lot to be desired, "appetizers" were chips, pretzles, and french onion dip, but I guess you can't expect much else for free. We didn't drink but there were a few guests that were taking advantadge of the open bar. There was also a wedding in the hotel that evening, which provided a nice distraction with taking pictures in the atrium and all the guests watching. We never ventured into the pool area, but from the atrium it looked small and very crowded - again, there were kids everywhere. Our room was nice enough, pull out couch, small kitchenette, two double beds in the bedroom. Bathroom was clean, but not sparkling, there were some areas of visible mold in the grout but the shower, tub, and the curtain were all clean. The table in the living are was a bit sticky however... I guess to sum it all up, if you are crashing here after a night of debauchery for a wedding or party in Philly, or you have an early flight and don't want to have to get up at 3am to drive to the airport, this is a decent option. The parking (while hard to find) is free, and you can leave your car there while you are away and take their shuttle to the airport. There are a number of hotels in this complex, but if you can get a good deal at this one it will suffice. As long as you aren't here for a resort type atmosphere and your most important features are a clean room/bathroom and a comfy bed, the Embassy Suites is always an option.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2006

Well, I have stayed here before and the last couple of times the stay was pretty good. My recent stay was average, it seems the breakfast buffet is not as tasty as it use to be. However, the "Happy Hour" was terrific!!! There was just one issue, the remote in our room just would not work, it took about three different tries before it finally acted right! The Ruby Tuesdays to the right of the Hotel is great, always is. Also the Room service is good yet expensive. I may think twice of staying again next year, the Embassy Suites are overrated.

  • Liked — Large Suite, Plenty of Room, Happy Hour
  • Disliked — Buffet
  • Tips/Secrets — Check other places near the airport
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Airport

Address: 9000 Bartram Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#37 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Airport 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suites hotel conveniently located one mile from Philadelphia International Airport, with easy access to I-95, I-76, I476 and the New Jersey Turnpike. 5 minutes to PPL Park home of pro soccer and the Philadelphia Union. 8 minutes from Harrah's Casino in Chester, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Philadelphia
Philadelphia Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.