We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar, and open all year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McFadden's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
McFadden's
1 Citizens Bank Way, Philadelphia, PA 19148
(215) 952-0300
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,173 of 3,724 restaurants in Philadelphia
Restaurant details
Langhorne, PA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great bar, and open all year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It is popular, so gets quite crowded, but the staff are friendly and the drinks are great. They also have a decent selection of bar food.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

54% Recommend
    4
    13
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Other than hot female bartenders - everything seems overpriced and the food is so-so”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The place is great to watch a game - there are TV's everywhere you look. The bartenders are probably even better to look at, but the bouncers are find of rude and make you feel almost scared to walk in the place. Maybe this was because I was there on the day of a football game and there are a lot of people who are in overdrive from drinking all day. Not to mention - the cover charge is ridiculous - it's almost like they charge you "because they can"

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A crowded bar with bad food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

It was a crowded bar, very tightly packed and the bouncers are not nice. The foor is way overpriced and it is cold. It was one of the worst places I have eaten in Philadelphia.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenonah, NJ
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Always a good time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We attended a ball game recently. Unfortunately it started to rain so we decided to visit McFadden's. Love this place. Bartenders were very attentive, drinks were great and the waitress was more than attentive. The food is very good. The only down side is it is so noisy in there you have to scream to the person sitting across from you. Between all of the TV's blasting and music playing it kind of makes you crazy. If you want to go for a first date and have conversation, don't go there. Other than that, love the place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food before a game.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a great place. Tasty menu and huge drink selection. Last time I was there I was pregnant, and they were kind enough to make me a Shirly Temple! It can get very crowded so the service is not the fastest, but they are always very friendly. It is a pricey place, so we only go about once a year as a special treat before the game.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McFadden's also viewed

 

Been to McFadden's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McFadden's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.