We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden byo for great sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Umai Restaurant

Umai Restaurant
533 N 22nd St, Philadelphia, PA 19130-3130
215-988-0707
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #380 of 3,484 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Hidden byo for great sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a great place for sushi in Fairmount - it's BYO, has an intimate atmosphere, and spectacular sushi. My fiance and I have been here several times, and it is always an enjoyable meal. I recommend the Traffic Light roll. Excellent service as well!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    3
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious sushi and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Went here for dinner on Valentine's Day and was extremely pleased. They had our reservation ready for us at 9:15 on the dot and were very accommodating. Since it is BYO we brought a bottle of Pinot noir and a few Sapporos to complement the sushi.

We started with the udon and miso soup, both being nice portions and then the tapas starter which was amazing.

For our entrees we split the Godzilla roll, the Nemo roll, and a yellowtail roll as well as a side of seaweed salad. The Godzilla roll was 10 gargantuan pieces of deliciousness while the Nemo roll was 6 wrapped pieces in a cucumber style and was delectable as well.

We couldn't finish everything because the size of the rolls were very large and filling.

Overall I will most certainly be back to Umai Umai and thought that for the amount of food we received, it was extremely affordable.

Definitely worth a visit!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I decided to have his bday celebration in Umai Umai as the designer rolls looked very intriguing and they were delicious! We had such a great time and left so happy! The service was great and our waitress was very attentive and gave us great suggestions. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“BYOB, AND good rolls?! Jackpot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I was a little hesitant to like this place at first. The atmosphere is quaint, but the smell was a little off. But, we had gone on a recommendation and brought our own wine from a nearby liquor store. After an appetizer to test the waters we decided to have some rolls and the waitress made some great recommendations. The yellowtail appetizer was fantastic, as was the Spirited away roll. Try it!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Very nice place! Great food and service and nice decor. I highly recommend it!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umai Restaurant also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Umai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.