We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nan Zhou Hand-Drawn Noodle House

Nan Zhou Hand-Drawn Noodle House
1022 Race St, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)
215-923-1550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #310 of 3,786 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
Neighborhood: City Center East
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: City Center East
newjersy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The food was great and the service too. I ordered the pork soup and couldn't have been more pleased. It was yummy and inexpensive. Just bring cash they do not accept credit cards.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    30
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“yum yum yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

You may have to wait to get in and remember to bring cash - no credit cards. Yummy plus! Soups, stir fry and the Chinese basics (dumplings, egg rolls). Great value and so good and fresh!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“The worst”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I don't know if this is "authentic" Chinese eatery, or "hand drawn" noodle house, but it was one of the most tasteless experiences in Chinatown of Philly.
Don't take us wrong: we love NON AMERICANIZED Chinese cuisine, we didn't freak out eating Pig Ears and Tribe. We LOVE tasting weird and funky food when it's done well. We eat chicken feet at every dim sum place we go and love it . But what we ate here was beyond tasteless, it was yukky.
The "spicy pig ears and tripe weren't spicy at all, instead it was cold, bland and similar to eating a very bad case of dried out headcheese. The supposedly "hand pooled noodle" was the blob of stocked together (very similar in looks to thin spaghetti) noodles that was hardly heated up with absolutely blend sauce with inedible ground pork pieces in it . We took couple of bites, and in spite of being very hungry, left the rest on the plate, paid (thanks God it was not a big money to loose) and left to find another place to have our lunch.
If we wouldn't taste Jiu Jiu Miun (I hope I spelled it close to the sound of the name of this wonderful Chinese dish) in New York we'd probably never knew that it's wonderful from our experience of eating it in this place.
But what was most disappointing is to have a high expectation from reading all these misleading reviews which failed miserably.
Do not recommend it to anyone.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great noodles, good food, no frills, cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Excellent noodles in the noodle soup and good steamed dumplings. Cheap, cash only. Some of the tables are communal, so you might be seated with people you don't know if there are only 1 or 2 of you. BY

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia,pa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“a must stop for noodle fans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stopped for a light dinner. Great value and quick service. Had the brisket and added dumplings - delicious, hot and filling. Rich broth and lots of beefy chunks. A must return!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nan Zhou Hand-Drawn Noodle House also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Nan Zhou Hand-Drawn Noodle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nan Zhou Hand-Drawn Noodle House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.