We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and service, no credit cards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pumpkin

Pumpkin
1713 South St, Philadelphia, PA 19146 (City Center West)
215-545-4448
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pumpkin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #132 of 3,481 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: 17th Street
Description: Celebrating our 9th year! Hillary & Ian welcome you to their intimate 26 seat BYOB featuring a daily changing seasonal menu. Our Sunday $40 five course prix fixe menu is available all year long. Awarded 3 bells from Philly Inquirer's food critic Craig Laban!
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great food and service, no credit cards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

the food was great, tongue as entre was ok but nothing out of this world... but the main courses!! the fish was perfect, and the meat with patatoes and onions was heavenly!, the meat was as we wanted... they do not accept credit card, but on the other hand you can BYOB, so at the end is not that expensive as if you had to buy wine... totally recommend it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    22
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reisterstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

OMG!.. What a find!
Absolutely wonderful food: fresh, creative, delicious, beautifully presented and well portioned.. Whatever we've tried was pure perfection.
The service was very nice, efficient, professional.
The ambiance is rustic/elegant and cozy.
The value is outstanding for what you get (particularly with 1000p from opentable).
We were very impressed with this little BYOB and definitely will be back any chance we get. Highly recommend to everyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

While visiting Philadelphia this week, local friends who really know fine food took us to dinner at Pumpkin and the meal we enjoyed together in this small charming restaurant was simply marvelous. We are told you have to reserve a month ahead to get a table and after dining here, we can see why. The caliber of the food is very high. The beet soup with crème fraiche and delicate vegetable garnish was among the best soups I have ever tasted. My sirloin arrived sliced to reveal perfect medium rare preparation as ordered, and dollops of delicious sauces made all the difference; the dish was superb. The four of us shared the three deserts on the menu, all wonderful, especially the butterscotch pudding with streusel. Yum! The service here was very good and BYOB added to the experience with special wines in tow. Even the French press decaf coffee was especially delicious, obviously chosen and readied with care. Very enjoyable indeed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great in many ways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

There were 3 of us in Philadelphia for a wedding and a friend who is local recommended that we try Pumpkin Restaurant. No regrets here. The food was amongst the most artistically presented that I have ever encountered. The portions are reasonable, not enormous. Two of us had one of the fish entrees (skate from Rhode Island and the other, sea bass). The other diner had a beef entree. There was nothing left on our plates...all outstandingly delicious. We shared a couple of appetizers..one was scallops...they were perfect. The chocolate cake dessert option was unlike any chocolate cake I had ever eaten..a 10. Somewhat unusual is this is a CASH ONLY place and also BYOB. We brought our own wine which was served by our waiter. Oh, yes, the service. It was the best and the waiter was charming as well. This is a very small restaurant without being crowded. The neighborhood is fine and there is a parking garage across the street within very easy walking distance. I'll visit this restaurant again

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Above & Beyond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We rented Pumpkin for our rehearsal dinner. Despite my mother doing her best to cause drama, Pumpkin served a superb meal. Food quality and service both soared past our expectations. The restaurant itself is small but charming. Our menu was full of in-season ingredients. The kitchen was great, as was the front of the house. We were jerks & they were amazing. Thank you.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pumpkin also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Pumpkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pumpkin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.