We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Five-Course Tasting Menu is fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pumpkin

Pumpkin
1713 South St, Philadelphia, PA 19146 (City Center West)
215-545-4448
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pumpkin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #132 of 3,481 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: 17th Street
Description: Celebrating our 9th year! Hillary & Ian welcome you to their intimate 26 seat BYOB featuring a daily changing seasonal menu. Our Sunday $40 five course prix fixe menu is available all year long. Awarded 3 bells from Philly Inquirer's food critic Craig Laban!
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Sunday Five-Course Tasting Menu is fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We have been to Pumpkin, before, and really like it. Friends of ours were only available to get together on a Sunday. We booked the table on Open Table and received a notice that the restaurant only serves the five course tasting menu on Sundays. What a happy surprise. The courses were inventive and delicious. Everything was prepared with great care and the plates looked beautiful. There were some unusual tastes to explore, but not so odd that you did not want to eat it all. Our friends persuaded us to try the sweetbreads special. I had never had it before. It was well executed, but I will pass next time. This is a BYOB and cash only. The dining room is on the first floor of a small house and only holds 24 people or so. The meal was an excellent value.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    22
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pumpkin is good for foodies and people with adventurous palates.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We visited Philadelphia during restaurant week. Our menu at Pumpkin was a Price fixe 3 course menu. We are adventurous eaters and were excited about the choices. Our waitress was also a chef who was covering on the floor because it was so busy. She was wonderful and not condescending about our many questions. Also, when I asked if a dish with fennel could be made without it she checked with the chef and asked if I would prefer brussels sprouts. There was no snootiness in responding to my request which is sometimes a reaction at a "foodie" establishment. All of the courses were delicious and combinations and/or preparations we had never had before. Pumpkin is a BYOB restaurant. We came prepared with wine. Our (college student) son wanted beer. The Pennsylvania liquor laws are bizarre and we ended up with PBR purchased from a dive bar down the street. Pumpkin was great about it and even put it in their refrigerator to keep it cold during our meal. I look forward to visiting again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenafly, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A bit off”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

While we heard accolades about this byo, we were disappointed to be offered only a small tasting menu upon our arrival. The food was good, to be sure, but the choices were so limited, it was difficult for a picky eater in our foursome. The service was attentive, but they never offered coffee, and were difficult to find at the end of our meal. Oh, and don't be assured of your reservation time- they phoned us the day before to change our time to half an hour later than originally set up...

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent fine dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Place is very small, therefore every dish is prepared by chef. Fresh local ingredients, unique preparation, all together makes up for great dinner to remember

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pumpkin Shines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Fantastic food, great combination of fresh, local ingredients and a truly beautiful presentation. Each plate is a work of art and worth the time to appreciate the effort it took to put the dish together! Plus you get the payoff when you put your first bite in your mouth...a taste sensation. All I wanted to do was examine each and every ingredient, figure out how to put the right combination together, but in the end I just followed my instincts an trust the chef. The wait staff was personable, friendly and very accommodating, but a little stretched. Timing of each dish was just a bit too long and the whole experience would have been enhanced by a better pace between dishes. A great experience and highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pumpkin also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Pumpkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pumpkin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.