We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thomas Bond House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philadelphia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thomas Bond House Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Thomas Bond House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
129 S 2nd Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 27 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
high wycombe
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Quaint guest house with characterful but small and noisy rooms. Most of the staff are charming, BUT beware of the manageress! Following an administrative error, her pugnacious attitude spoilt our stay. (See other similar criticisms).

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    65
    20
    17
    3
See reviews for
26
98
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Thomas Bond House is located right in the heart of the Old City and the house itself is lovely - Built in the 1700's; the house is decorated in the period; yet with updated plumbing and electricity. The rooms are small but cozy. The staff is sweet and hospitable. We didn't think the food, breakfast, wine and cheese, was really on par with what we expect from B&B's but, hey - the B&B is in the middle of multiple restaurants, pubs and pizza counters so I imagine that's just not necessary. Our best meal "at the house" was the slices of pizza and beer we took to our room late one night...but we loved the views and the vibe of Thomas Bond House and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I just stayed at the Thomas Bond House this past weekend. I stayed in the Thomas Bond Sr room, which is the largest. It had a great 4-poster bed that required a two-step stool to get into and a large seating area with a couch and large, comfortable chair. Most of the other rooms are very small, barely large enough for a bed and chest.

All the other reviews are correct about the wonderful location, beautiful period furniture, helpful hosts, great breakfasts, and other amenities. However, no one mentioned the fact that it is right next to a square where revelers from the many nearby restaurants and bars hang out late on the weekends. Both Friday and Saturday night, the street noise went on until after 3 a.m. I was there with a group and we had five rooms. All of us had the same noise problem, regardless of floor or location in the building. Sunday night everything was peaceful and quiet. I really like this place, but would be hesitant to stay there again on a weekend.

Room Tip: The Thomas Bond Sr room is the largest - with a sitting area. Most other rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Thomas Bond House B and B is in an awesome location on Second St. right in the middle of the Old City- really perfect for sightseeing and close to public transportation. The house itself is a beautiful old (constructed in the late 1700's, I believe) house with a large, well-decorated living area furnished with period pieces and set up for socializing and relaxing, including a game table set with checkers/chess. Peggy and Jerry who are the innkeepers are very knowledgeable about everything Philadelphia and are friendly and helpful and very "present" in the running of the house. The staff is also friendly and attentive.

The room we had was on the second floor (Benjamin Eldridge) and certainly one of the smallest. It was so small there was no place to put luggage and there was no room for a desk or table to sit at. There was just the queen-size bed, two small night tables on either side, and an armoire with a tiny TV. The room was nicely decorated. There was a good-size closet but no working luggage rack and only four hangers so we really couldn't unpack much. I think the TV at one time had been a computer monitor. In any case, we didn't use it so I have no idea how it worked. There was supposed to be internet in the whole house, but it never worked in the room and it sometimes worked on the main floor -something that really should be fixed. Even if I'm on vacation, my husband and I like to check in with friends and family and he needs to check in with work so that was a bit of a problem for us. The bathroom had a small pedestal sink with only one glass shelf above it. There was no other place to put toiletries. The decoration in the bathroom needed updating - clearly it was last done about twenty years ago, because the wallpaper is yellowed and peeling and the shower doors pretty dark with mold on the track and the interior handles (where no one can reach to clean). Time to remodel the bathroom for sure. The biggest problem we had with the house is that there is no way to individually control the temperature of the room. It was early October and we were told that the A/C to the whole house had been turned off and the heat turned on - not necessary as it was a comfortable 65 degrees outside. The living room, dining room, hallways and our room were punishingly hot - and none of the windows were operable as the house is old and Peggy told us she hadn't been permitted to replace them. Not only was I uncomfortably warm all the time, but all other nine guests that we met were uncomfortable as well - windows couldn't open on the main floor either! This is really why we won't return. No need to have heat on in that kind of weather and if it's too hot, we want to be able to open a window or turn on the A/C.

The breakfast during the week was certainly bountiful but with pastries that did not appear to be house-made, hard-boiled eggs, supermarket style bread, yogurts and cheese - I would not call it gourmet. The weekend breakfast of waffles and bacon was better. We really did love the wine and cheese in the evenings. It was an opportunity to meet lots of other interesting people and the cheeses, salamis and crackers were varied and tasty. The evening tea service with chocolate chip cookies was a nice surprise.

In sum, the house was beautiful, but we won't return because of the spotty internet and the temperature problem. If those things can be fixed, we'd go back in a heartbeat, but spring for a larger and more expensive room. Too hard to be squeezed in a small space for more than a day or two!

Room Tip: Our room faced onto a plaza of sorts - might have been noisy in the summer. We could hear people ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Thomas Bond House is a wonderful choice for anyone interested in adding one more historical aspect to a tour of Philadelphia's historic sites. It's an 18th century house, as restored as possible to still be a modern inn, owned by the National Park Service but run (leased, I am guessing) by a friendly and helpful couple. Rooms are appropriately small (for the period) and appropriately furnished (i.e., comfortable bed but also a hidden tv). Breakfast during the week was definitely a good and very "expanded" continental service. I was visiting a daughter who lives nearby, and this will be my first choice next visit.

Room Tip: With just 12 rooms, it's hard to go wrong. My room overlooked a plaza where tour groups seem to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful three night stay at Thomas Bond B&B. The Innkeepers, Peggy and Jerry, and their staff were delightful, helpful, and made us feel at home. The breakfasts were delicious and quite filling. We did not walk away hungry. The location in Old Town of Philadelphia is within walking distance of most everything. The water front is right there, as well. We were able to catch the Lady Liberty shuttle from and to Philadelphia AIrport. And, car rentals can be made at the Hyatt, which is about a five minute walk from the B&B. This was a long weekend of convenience and great accommodations. We highly recommend the Thomas Bond House, and rate it at the top of list of places to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very lovely historic B&B in a great location at the edge of Old City Philadelphia. Our room was small....as one would expect from a building built in the 1700's but comfortable and very attractive with period furnishings. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and breakfast was gourmet. The had a 'free' wine/cheese/and crackers hour in the early evening which was great in order to meet your fellow travelers. A very pleasurable stay if you really want to 'live' the Old City experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thomas Bond House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomas Bond House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 129 S 2nd Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thomas Bond House is an historic alternative to impersonal lodging. Step into the 18th century in this exquisitely restored circa 1769 gem. Located within the Independence National Historic Park in Philadelphia, PA, you are just steps away from all the historic landmarks, world class restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thomas Bond House Bed And Breakfast
Thomas Bond House Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thomas Bond House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.