We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and accommodations were tops” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spruce Hill Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philadelphia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spruce Hill Manor
Save
You added Spruce Hill Manor to your Saves list
3709 Baring St., Philadelphia, PA 19104   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Service and accommodations were tops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We spent a long weekend in Philadelphia and chose Janet Reitano's Spruce Hill Manor as our base. It fulfilled every expectation and more. The location was convenient to get into and out of the city center. The Inn is located on a quiet street and the rooms were large and had many extras included like a refrigerator and microwave. Janet, the owner and innkeeper, was extremely helpful and thought of everything to make our stay enjoyable. Coffee, tea, and snacks were always available and the breakfast included fresh fruit and breads, cereal, plus a variety of baked goods. Janet is also a great tour guide and will make recommendations for visits and transportation. We will always choose Spruce Hill Manor for our lodging in Philadelphia.

Room Tip: Speak with the innkeeper to let her know your requirements and she will suggest an appropriate room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    21
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
79
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Came here based just on reviews and was not disappointed! House and rooms were wonderful, and it was just getting set up for Christmas. Breakfast was just enough before heading into the city for cheese steaks, with the maps we were given. Location was close to public transportation so it was easy to get around. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Our stay at the the Spruce Hill Manor was incredible. The room was spacious and beautiful. The whole bed and breakfast was gorgeous. The area it's located in is very quant and quiet. For breakfast the host makes freshly baked goods and fresh coffee. Janet made the stay even more accommodating. She answered any questions and assisted in helping us find directions whenever we needed them. She also arranged any cab rides we needed. The cutest part was that she gave us precious little souvenirs. We will be back soon solely based on how great our stay was at the Spruce Hill Manor. We can't get enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Janet was incredibly accommodating and extremely helpful. The room was gorgeous and spacious. Our stay in Philly would not have been as good without Janet and Spruce Hill Manor. We will definitely be returning!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a beautiful spacious Victorian house with lovely decor and period dishes and table settings. The host is a warm, friendly, helpful person. We enjoyed her a lot. Our suite, Audubon, was huge (the living room). Bedroom was small but just fine. There was a kitchenette area with microwave. Wonderful to relax in after sightseeing. Major tourist sites (many museums ) are easily accessible by bus. There are restaurants in the neighborhood within walking distance. We recommend a stay here. We especially appreciated that all our luggage was taken up and down the stairs by the host and her helpers and they also helped pack our car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Spruce hill manor is a historic home located near downtown Philadelphia, PA. It is in the university section on one of the few nicer streets in an otherwise cagey and economically depressed area. Be aware that there is big city street noise and several homes are occupied by students in the area. We were awoken briefly by occasional sirens, helicopters and loud students on two out of three nights. I can't fault the B&B for this, we would just consider a different room towards the rear of the house for future stays. Janet, the host, is very nice and was willing to accommodate us in our requests and happy to help with advice and useful information. On the second day of our visit, she presented us with a gift on our bed: A selection of artful bookmarks (we were staying in the Library room). Breakfasts consisted of coffee, tea & juice with selections of cold cereals, dried fruits, snacks, breads, fresh fruits and quiche. Being so close to halloween, Janet had set out bowls of candy for guests in the entry hall. My Wife and I were on personal business in the area and we were made to feel at home at Spruce Hill. Janet even checked up on us via email when we checked out early in the morning to race out of town before Hurricane Sandy hit.

We would definitely stay here again, however, there is room for improvement and the unfortunate reason we can't give an excellent rating: 1) The mattress on the queen bed in the library room is worn out and needs to be replaced. 2) The toilet in the library room is almost touching the adjacent shower wall, so "side saddle" riding is necessary if you're tall like me. 3) Parking is tricky as the manor has space for about three cars in the driveway. Parking on the street during weekdays necessitates moving your car every two hours to avoid tickets, We got lucky in that we arrived on a Friday and went home early Monday morning so it wasn't an issue.

Pros: The location is close to the universities, public transportation, the zoo, sports complexes, museums and little Italy (gotta eat at Genos/Pat's). Janet is about as nice a person as they come and the manor is a charming, pleasant oasis.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent three nights in Phily and we are so happy that we chose to stay in this lovely house. The room is Library, which is wonderful, the breakfast is wonderful and the hostress is wonderful! It is my first time to try B&B and definately it brings me a very special and great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spruce Hill Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Hill Manor

Address: 3709 Baring St., Philadelphia, PA 19104
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spruce Hill Manor Bed and Breakfast is located in the University City neighborhood of Philadelphia. Situated in an 1879 Victorian mansion, the inn is surrounded by beautiful lawns and gardens. Antique furnishings, oriental carpets and fine linens complement the inn's original woodwork and stained glass. Its quiet residential locale is just minutes from Philadelphia's major universities, hospitals, museums, city center and convention complex. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spruce Hill Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.