We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Wonderful Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spruce Hill Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philadelphia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spruce Hill Manor
Save
You added Spruce Hill Manor to your Saves list
3709 Baring St., Philadelphia, PA 19104   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Wonderful, Wonderful Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

I would totally recommend this B&B to anyone going to the Philly area. The inn keepers were so warm and friendly and made us feel right at home. The B&B is in a great location- close to downtown and a trolley ride away from all the main transportations. We also found great, cozy places to eat within walking distance from the B&B. We would love to stay here again if we ever find ourselves back in Philly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    23
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
49
82
24
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Excellent experience. The table setting and baked goods for breakfast, the courtesy of the hostess, as well as her caring attitude and generosity, are exceptional. It's like being with friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

This b&b is nothing short of superb. Janet is a wonderful host and very generous and caring. Nothing is too much trouble and she offers more than is advertised on the internet. The breakfasts, and indeed the choice of available snacks during the day, are varied and plentiful. The rooms are large and stocked with all manner of plates, glasses, cups etc. that you could need. If there was anything missing that you would need, Janet would remedy that immediately. The beds are very comfortable. She has an asset in her assistant, Pam, who is also warm and welcoming. And Adrienne makes the most delicious banana bread – thanks for the extra calories!!!
The accommodation is located within walking distance of several restaurants and we can highly recommend the Lemon Grass Thai restaurant. We felt comfortable walking to the restaurant and believed the near surrounding area to be safe. We also had no problem with the available parking.
We have been travelling across the USA for the past 5 weeks and this is by far the nicest accommodation we have had. I would highly recommend Janet, her team and her accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Ms. Janet was a wonderful Hostess!! Our flight had been delayed then cancelled so our arrival time changed from 4 pm to 2:30 am. I am sure that this is not this is not what Ms. Janet was looking forward too. She welcomed us upon our arrival like it was normal to come in at 2:30am! The next morning the house felt so relaxing. She had a Fabulous Breakfast waiting. Asked what we had planned for the day and gave us tips and directions to our destinations. Spruce Hill Manor was recomened to us from friends that had stayed here in 2010. Our main reason for coming to Philly was for the Penn Relays. To see our son compete, We had another family there with us that also had their boys competing. Philly was a great time and this B&B was tops!!! Carrie and Marlin

Room Tip: for this B&B Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suttons Bay, Michigan
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Janetiis one the sweetest people we have ever met. Very accomodating and helpful.
This is a nice place to stay. We totally enjoyed our three nights here in Philadelphia.
Jim and Linda Munro
www.kornerkottage.com

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horsham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

The Spruce Hill Manor is the perfect choice. The innkeeper, Janet, seems geniunely interested in the happiness and comfort of her guests and is very helpful and knowledgable of the surrounding area. The rooms are spotless, very large, and full of victorian glamour. I stayed there for 2 nights: one with my wedding party and the next for our honeymoon night. The picture opportunities alone were well worth the stay - the place is just incredible. There is even a beautifully kept back yard, tons of flowering bushes and sights to see. If you are getting married, traveling alone, or vacationing with family or friends and want to stay somewhere incredible, this is definitely the place for you. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Every room is perfect! Select any with confidence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Having never stayed at a B&B I was not quite sure what to expect but immediately upon arrival I was made to feel extremely welcomed. Janet is an extraordinary hostess, willing to "customize" your visit in anyway possible to ensure your complete satisfaction. My sisters and I had a wonderful time and Janet went out of her way to make our Sisters' summit perfect from beginning to end!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spruce Hill Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Hill Manor

Address: 3709 Baring St., Philadelphia, PA 19104
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spruce Hill Manor Bed and Breakfast is located in the University City neighborhood of Philadelphia. Situated in an 1879 Victorian mansion, the inn is surrounded by beautiful lawns and gardens. Antique furnishings, oriental carpets and fine linens complement the inn's original woodwork and stained glass. Its quiet residential locale is just minutes from Philadelphia's major universities, hospitals, museums, city center and convention complex. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spruce Hill Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.