We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coming home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spruce Hill Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philadelphia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spruce Hill Manor
Save
You added Spruce Hill Manor to your Saves list
3709 Baring St., Philadelphia, PA 19104   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“coming home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Ms. Janet was a wonderful Hostess!! Our flight had been delayed then cancelled so our arrival time changed from 4 pm to 2:30 am. I am sure that this is not this is not what Ms. Janet was looking forward too. She welcomed us upon our arrival like it was normal to come in at 2:30am! The next morning the house felt so relaxing. She had a Fabulous Breakfast waiting. Asked what we had planned for the day and gave us tips and directions to our destinations. Spruce Hill Manor was recomened to us from friends that had stayed here in 2010. Our main reason for coming to Philly was for the Penn Relays. To see our son compete, We had another family there with us that also had their boys competing. Philly was a great time and this B&B was tops!!! Carrie and Marlin

Room Tip: for this B&B Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    21
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
79
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suttons Bay, Michigan
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Janetiis one the sweetest people we have ever met. Very accomodating and helpful.
This is a nice place to stay. We totally enjoyed our three nights here in Philadelphia.
Jim and Linda Munro
www.kornerkottage.com

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horsham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

The Spruce Hill Manor is the perfect choice. The innkeeper, Janet, seems geniunely interested in the happiness and comfort of her guests and is very helpful and knowledgable of the surrounding area. The rooms are spotless, very large, and full of victorian glamour. I stayed there for 2 nights: one with my wedding party and the next for our honeymoon night. The picture opportunities alone were well worth the stay - the place is just incredible. There is even a beautifully kept back yard, tons of flowering bushes and sights to see. If you are getting married, traveling alone, or vacationing with family or friends and want to stay somewhere incredible, this is definitely the place for you. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Every room is perfect! Select any with confidence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Having never stayed at a B&B I was not quite sure what to expect but immediately upon arrival I was made to feel extremely welcomed. Janet is an extraordinary hostess, willing to "customize" your visit in anyway possible to ensure your complete satisfaction. My sisters and I had a wonderful time and Janet went out of her way to make our Sisters' summit perfect from beginning to end!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

My husband and I recently visited my son in Philadelphia. We stayed at Spruce HIll Manor for three days. Janet, the Innkeeper, was very hospitable, making sure that we were comfortable and had everything we needed. We highly recommend this B&B to other travelers.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Traveled to Philly to visit family and found this place via web search. Turned out that, not only was it convenient, but it was a wonderful place. Janet was warm, friendly, personable and made you feel very welcome. She was helpful too! Will definitely return here again.

Room Tip: Web site makes it easy to choose room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Janet is a wonderful host. She is gracious and hospitable in every way. She helped make our first time visit to Philadelphia as complete as our time allowed. Her suggestions for restaurants and activities were perfect for our family! She provided a variety of healthy, organic, tasty breakfast options as well as drinks and snacks throughout the day. The room was as clean as I've seen and the sleeping was great. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spruce Hill Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Hill Manor

Address: 3709 Baring St., Philadelphia, PA 19104
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spruce Hill Manor Bed and Breakfast is located in the University City neighborhood of Philadelphia. Situated in an 1879 Victorian mansion, the inn is surrounded by beautiful lawns and gardens. Antique furnishings, oriental carpets and fine linens complement the inn's original woodwork and stained glass. Its quiet residential locale is just minutes from Philadelphia's major universities, hospitals, museums, city center and convention complex. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spruce Hill Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.