We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas in Philly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tinto

Tinto
114 S 20th St, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)
215-665-9150
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tinto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 3,780 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Spanish, Basque
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: Sansom
Transit: SEPTA: The 17, 21, and 42 buses stop near the restaurant. The Market-Frankford El stop is at 15th & Market.
Description: Tinto, an expression used to describe red wine served in pintxos bars throughout Northern Spain, is the ultimate expression of what a Basque wine bar should be. Located in Rittenhouse Square, the cozy restaurant, drawing inspiration from the rich cultural and culinary traditions of Basque country, inspires, tantalizes and satisfies with extraordinary cuisine by Chef Jose Garces. Specialties of the House Duck Montadito, Shrimp & Chorizo Brochettes, Short Rib Bocadillo, 60 bottle wine list from the Basque regions of N. Spain and S. France, and artisanal ciders. Private Parties: Tinto welcomes groups of all sizes. Events can be booked throughout the restaurant and in our private dining rooms seven days a week. For parties of 12 or more, please call our private events team to schedule your reservation at 267-284-7979 or email events@garcesgroup.com
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tapas in Philly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Really good food, the service, however, left a lot to be desired. I stopped signing my credit cards some time ago. When we paid the bill and used one of my cards, the server never asked for ID. And, the bill was not inexpensive.

Tip: order wine by the bottle- it will be a better value

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    87
    20
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Will go back for the tasting menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Went here for dinner before a show . Perfect place for this with multiple small plates and good wine. The plates were a little variable in quality with some exceptionally good and some just good. The rillete was delicious and had some sublime fois gras mousse on top and the turbot was excellent. The pork belly was fatty but tasty. The paella and the mussels which were shelled and in a tomato based sauce were not nearly as good. We sat next to people having the tasting menu which looked great so plan to return.
The tables for two are all along one wall, and very small and close together; prepare to share your conversation!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Tinto one of the best in Philadelphia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Oh my from the Chestnut Soup to the Arugula Salad which were two of my favorites. Next was the pork belly and the duck which were really good. Then to the mushrooms which was culinary heaven just so well done. To finish the lamb chops which were the best I ever had just amazing slow cooked with sweetbread wrapped around them they were melt in your mouth delicious Overall our waiter was top notch. Overall experience was great. With cocktails and desert shared an the tip you are looking at $200.00 for two people but oh my was it worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Tapas place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

If you are in a mood for spanish style dinner this is the place to be. Flavors are excellent and service is very good. Small plates of tasty treats are more interesting then just one course. great wine selection as well. Service was superb.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Flavor with a capital "F"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I came to Tinto on a Sunday night with 3 friends. We had been "whiskey" tasting all day and finally settled here to grab some food.....Lucky us! It was late, we weren't rushed. We had 2 bottles of wine. (The wine was certainly over-priced, but tasty). We had a cheese platter and meatballs, breads, rice. It was the perfect amount of food and super tasty. The plates give a whole new meaning to "small plates". I wish the server had told us to order more food. Not that we couldn't do it....but suggestive selling usually always works with my crew:)

The atmosphere is warm and I loved it. I can't wait to come back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tinto also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Tinto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tinto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.