We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tinto one of the best in Philadelphia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tinto

Tinto
114 S 20th St, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)
215-665-9150
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tinto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 3,724 restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Spanish, Basque
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: Sansom
Transit: SEPTA: The 17, 21, and 42 buses stop near the restaurant. The Market-Frankford El stop is at 15th & Market.
Description: Tinto, an expression used to describe red wine served in pintxos bars throughout Northern Spain, is the ultimate expression of what a Basque wine bar should be. Located in Rittenhouse Square, the cozy restaurant, drawing inspiration from the rich cultural and culinary traditions of Basque country, inspires, tantalizes and satisfies with extraordinary cuisine by Chef Jose Garces. Specialties of the House Duck Montadito, Shrimp & Chorizo Brochettes, Short Rib Bocadillo, 60 bottle wine list from the Basque regions of N. Spain and S. France, and artisanal ciders. Private Parties: Tinto welcomes groups of all sizes. Events can be booked throughout the restaurant and in our private dining rooms seven days a week. For parties of 12 or more, please call our private events team to schedule your reservation at 267-284-7979 or email events@garcesgroup.com
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Tinto one of the best in Philadelphia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Oh my from the Chestnut Soup to the Arugula Salad which were two of my favorites. Next was the pork belly and the duck which were really good. Then to the mushrooms which was culinary heaven just so well done. To finish the lamb chops which were the best I ever had just amazing slow cooked with sweetbread wrapped around them they were melt in your mouth delicious Overall our waiter was top notch. Overall experience was great. With cocktails and desert shared an the tip you are looking at $200.00 for two people but oh my was it worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    143
    77
    15
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Tapas place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

If you are in a mood for spanish style dinner this is the place to be. Flavors are excellent and service is very good. Small plates of tasty treats are more interesting then just one course. great wine selection as well. Service was superb.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Flavor with a capital "F"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I came to Tinto on a Sunday night with 3 friends. We had been "whiskey" tasting all day and finally settled here to grab some food.....Lucky us! It was late, we weren't rushed. We had 2 bottles of wine. (The wine was certainly over-priced, but tasty). We had a cheese platter and meatballs, breads, rice. It was the perfect amount of food and super tasty. The plates give a whole new meaning to "small plates". I wish the server had told us to order more food. Not that we couldn't do it....but suggestive selling usually always works with my crew:)

The atmosphere is warm and I loved it. I can't wait to come back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The food was excellent and quite a find for restaurant week. There were 4 of us and we tried just about every dish on the restaurant week menu, and everything was excellent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“lots of fun little plates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

went here for restaurant week and enjoyed everything. The variety was excellent, and the food was deliscious. Favorites were the bomba rice and the chicken dish. we also had cheeses,olives,
serano ham, octopus, mussels, duck,... it was a great way to get many flavours in one sitting for the three of us. We have been to Amada and would give them a tad higher rating. Also the wines that were served with our dinners $15 for 2 glasses were very good, especially with the food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tinto also viewed

 

Been to Tinto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tinto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.