We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very popular with generous portion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Greek Lady

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Greek Lady
S. 40th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104 (University City)
(215) 382-2600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,025 of 3,780 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: University City
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Very popular with generous portion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

There were quite a few restaurants on 40th street, yet this one was so much more popular than others when we visited on the U Penn Parents weekend. You could sit either inside or outside. Once you ordered at the counter, they brought the food over to your table.

The salad portion was humongous. I packed 2 boxes first knowing there was no no way we could finish (you can get boxes, bags and utensils on a self-served table inside). Lamb gyro (surprised to find french fries) was good. Beef and chicken are also available.

We would definitely visit again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    15
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“One of the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The lamb gyro is generous in portion size and a scrumptious mix of sliced meat, tomatoes, lettuce, onion and French fries,,tenderly wrapped in bread and drizzled with a yogurt garlic sauce.

Great for a satisfying meal on the go. Definitely recommended!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Greek Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Gyro was awesome. Great place in UPENN area and very clean. I would highly recommend if you are in the area.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“I'd forgotten how great this restaurant is!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Greek Lady is a staple for the West Philadelphia university communities, and is still a phenomenal restaurant. Everything on the menu is good, delivery is quick, and this restaurant never disappoints!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Univ City institution that never gets old”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I cannot count how many times I've been here, but every time I leave happy. Wonderful dishes at good prices with fast service. Defiantly worth braving the crowds :)

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greek Lady also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to The Greek Lady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greek Lady, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.