We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khyber Pass Pub

Khyber Pass Pub
56 S 2nd St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2810 (City Center East)
215-238-5888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 3,484 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Center East
Binghamton, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was our second visit, and the primary target of entertainment for our trip. The first visit I foolishly played safe and ordered the house burger, and it was good. This time, however, I braved the new, and went for the roast beef po'boy. Never in my life did I think I would enjoy a concoction made from that list of ingredients, but it was absolutely amazing. The only complaint was that according to my wife I should have had gravy puddling around my elbows. And speaking of strange concoctions, the Bourbon Milk Punch. It makes no sense, tastes like nectar, and after several, makes total sense, and still tastes like nectar. If you can't get to NOLA, this makes for an acceptable substitute.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    45
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cherry hill
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“5 Star Southern Comfort Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This was a superb meal in every respect. The fried chicken juicy and flavorful, the mac and cheese exceptional baked in a small crock crispy on top. The duck sandwich with cashew oil, cheddar fries, and fried tomato BLT were also exceptional and quite large. We were also impressed with their large hunk of bread pudding. One of us had a Manhattan perfectly made and reasonably priced with premium spirits, The draft beer selection is extensive and properly poured.
The server was knowledgeable and friendly. This will be a go to place when we want to treat ourselves an unhealthy but delicious meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Second visit. First was for brunch where their tale on a Cajun version of eggs Benedict was fantastic. Lunch this time was a smoked turkey chili, which is up there with the best I've ever had. Servers are friendly and helpful. The beer selection is very good and focused on craft and micro- brewed selections. Also, unusual for a pub that focuses on beer, I had an outstanding Bloody Mary. This is now on my list of places to visit on a regular basis.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great beer and Po Boys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Nice little pub in Old City. Great beer list on rotating taps so always something new and exciting. Good happy hour with $2 off draft beer. The food menu has a large Po Boy section, I had a catfish one that was delicious. Also, get the bacon fat popcorn, sounds disgusting but you will not regret it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Love this place. Always a good atmosphere. Great beers on tap. Fantastic food. Get the brisket! Also the sides are great...personal favorite are the sweet potato fries, but the orca is also great.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khyber Pass Pub also viewed

 

Been to Khyber Pass Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khyber Pass Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.