We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel Has It All” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #10 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“This Hotel Has It All”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

The Best Western Independence Park Hotel has it all. It’s a boutique hotel – big enough to have all the amenities we want and small enough to provide personal service.

Its location can’t be beat; it’s walking distance to the historic sites, world-class restaurants, clubs and shops.

When my parents come back to Philly to visit, this is their “home away from home”. Over the past two years they have spent approximately 30 nights here. Their most recent visit ( Nov 2010 ) came about because of a serious medical issue that brought them from Tulsa, OK to Wills Eye Hospital. The staff was so welcoming and helpful – it made a very difficult time much easier.

On behalf of my parents Jan and Jerry, I’d like to personally thank Gina, Stacey, Michelle, Craig, Jessica, Donna, Loretta, Adam, the really nice Maintenance man whose name escapes me and everyone else at this wonderful and charming hotel!

We can heartily recommend this hotel for everything from a get away weekend to a business trip and everything in between.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    216
    49
    11
    11
See reviews for
192
244
34
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

Great location, friendly staff, clean room, good breakfast... unfortunately rooms at front are noisy on weekends at around 2AM due to local nightlife. Also, WiFi does not extend to upper rooms.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

Stayed in the Best Western recently for 7 nights & the main reasons for choosing this hotel was its location and even though the rate was similar to some 4* hotels close by this hotel supplied breakfast.It always seems much more convenient to have breakfast included when staying more than a couple of days.
The self serve breakfast was well stocked with choice of cereals ,breads,fruit ,juices,scrambled egg ,sausage, tea/coffee & waffle makers.Just to be fussy I would have loved some bagels & cheese.
Location is bang in the centre of the historical district ,only 5 minutes from the visitors centre and No1 stop for hop on hop off tour buses.
There is an huge number of restaurants & bars within walking distance & even though it is not the classiest area of the city many of the top expensive restaurants are situated close to the hotel.
We booked a King room room and was glad I did because the Queen rooms are quite compact. The decor in the room was fine but nothing special ,slightly dated but the hotel is obviously trying to match its historic status.Our room was on the second floor and you could definetly hear all movement in the room above which may annoy some guests.Also my biggest gripe was the inefficent heating in our room ,it is an in wall blow heater with a loud fan which we needed to keep on through the night as it was quite cold for December and it was difficult to achieve comfortable temperatures.
The hotel is within walking distance of the city centre stores such as Maceys but there is an excellent bus system with a drop off point just beside the hotel ,single journey each way is just $2.00.
All in all this is a quite good 3 star hotel but dont expect any luxuries.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Cal.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

When we first pulled up to the hotel, we saw a homeless man in the doorway of an abandoned building yelling at passers by about 1/2 block away (the area was cleared of vagrants by the nest day). At that point, I was ready to make a run for it but we decided to check it out anyway, and I'm glad we did. The hotel is a renovated historic building, the lobby was beautiful, especially during our stay because it was decorated for Christmas with holiday music playing constantly. Our room was great, a little on the small side although the bathroom was huge. The room was nicely decorated in colonial style. The bathroom was very nice except that the sink and bathtub drains were very slow. The elevator was very slow, at one point I had to wait almost 5 minutes to get back to my room from the bottom floor. The breakfast was really good for a free hotel breakfast, good food and good selection. The staff was awesome, especially Stacy who works the afternoon/evening shift, she was very friendly and went out of her way to help us with everything, including lugging our bags up to our room. There is no parking for the hotel, there is a limit on street parking, where I wouldn't have parked anyway, so the only option is to use a commercial lot about 2 blocks away which is $18 a day (no special rate for hotel guests). On the up side, the hotel is only 3 blocks away from Independence Hall and within walking distance of the other historical attractions downtown. Although it is not part of the hotel, I strongly recommend dining at the City Tavern, which is across the street from the parking garage, it is a colonial style tavern with the servers in period dress. There were 2 for one coupons at the hotel when we were there which made it even more attractive. If we are ever in need of a hotel in Philadelphia again, we will definitly stay there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

An very old but nice location for staying one or two nights.
The hotel is 5 minutes walking distance from the Independence Hall. The other atractions are close too.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

I read somewhere in my paperwork that the breakfast was included with our stay. When the host told me that it wasn't I was surprised. Of course I couldn't find the paper work stating this, so we paid for the meal. Most hotels I stay in this is a must for me simply for the convenience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

Comfortable and convenient to all the historic sites! Complimentary breakfast was good - grandson and I loved making liberty bell waffles! I wish the evening tea was available through the evening - only thing I would suggest.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Address: 235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning to "Visit Philly" this Autumn or Winter, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We're located in Philadelphia's Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin's Post Office, Betsy Ross's House, the National Constitution Center and Penn's Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you're in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.