We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Buy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #7 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Best Buy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

You can't beat the location for anyone interested in historical sites, Nor the price - was among the cheapest in the old city. Our first sight of the room was a shock, very dark and small.It faced another bldg. under renovation, For an extra $40/night we could face the street but it was only available for one night. Anyhow we kept the lights on and got adjusted to it. Very clean and quiet. Nice touch, a Wed. night wine and cheese party, free, from 5:30 TO 6:30. Waffles best thing about the breakfast - scrambled eggs must be made with powdered eggs. Location also good for numerous restaurants - tapas place Amada, short walk towards the river, is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    314
    185
    46
    9
    11
See reviews for
175
202
31
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel is a charming boutique hotel situated in a historic building. Rooms were charmingly decorated, comfortable, well-lit and clean. Staff were helpful, and provided us with tips for the best dining experience. Location-wise, the hotel is located right beside the historical trail.

A complimentary breakfast with a good variety of choices was also offered. This included a liberty bell waffle maker. Complimentary coffee, tea and biscuits were served everyday from 4pm to 6pm.

This hotel was one of the best hotels we have stayed in, and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear nahseb,

We get many nice reviews at The Independence Park Hotel, but yours was such a pleasure to receive. Thanks for the kind words and for staying with us on your visit to Philadelphia, we appreciate both.

When you wrote that The Independence Park Hotel "was one of the best hotels we have stayed in" and that you "would definitely stay here again!” I immediately gathered our team and read your comments aloud.

We are glad to have received a perfect TripAdvisor score and earned the title of EXCELLENT....thanks again.

Come visit us again soon!

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clinton, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Heart of the old city never needed the car and plenty of good places to eat in the area a lot of street noise at night might want to stay on the back side of the hotel nice lobby. This is an historic building very clean and well kept

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Lovely hotel with a lot of charm in a great location! Easy walk to Independence Hall and South Street. Friendly staff, especially Donna at the front desk! Would highly recommend and I would stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Merrick, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was a very convenient hotel in the historic district. The room was clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. Lynn did a great job with restaurant recommendations and the breakfast was outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear ANT950,

Thanks for the great review and thanks for selecting the Independence Park Hotel. From the sounds of things, you really enjoyed your stay with us!

Your review was accurate, concise and appreciated. We especially liked your mentioning how "convenient", "clean", "friendly" and "helpful" we were. I liked that you said our "breakfast was outstanding"!

Thanks again and come back soon

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel after reading good reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. Donna provided friendly service at check in and called up to our room to make sure the room was OK. The room was small, but clean, quiet and more then adequate for the two of us. Breakfast in the morning offered a great selection of eggs, sausage, pastries, breads, yogurt, fruit and make your own Belgian waffles. We also enjoyed the cookies and coffee/tea in the afternoon.

We had a great stay overall and I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I only stayed at this hotel because my company sent me here. But it wasn't bad. The room was nice and the bed was comfortable. Overall, we had a pleasant stay when it comes to the room. The two big minuses about this hotel are 1) the location: we had to wander around forever to find a place just to get some snacks after dark. Everything in the neighborhood closes early. it is close to the historical sites, but not much else. 2) the breakfast. The eggs were downright awful and the milk tasted off.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Address: 235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re planning to “Visit Philly” this summer, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We’re located in Philadelphia’s Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin’s Post Office, Betsy Ross’s House, the National Constitution Center and Penn’s Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you’re in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.