We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #10 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Seabrook
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The staff was excellent. The location is just one block off of market street and three blocks from independence hall. We walked all the way from the hotel to museum and caught the trolley back. Lots of great sights along the way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    216
    49
    11
    11
See reviews for
192
244
34
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel has only 35 rooms in a historic building. Many attractions are with walking distance. Rooms are clean, great beds, nice bathroom, full breakfast including eggs, waffles, cereals, breads. Afternoon tea with cookies and, at least on Wednesdays a wine and snack party for hotel guests. Lots of good restaurants nearby. And, it is very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear SFGAL8,

Thanks for your wonderful review and for telling the world about your fabulous time at the Independence Park Hotel. We appreciate both!

You are 100% correct when you wrote "Many attractions are with walking distance" and there are "Lots of good restaurants nearby." Personally, I think we have the best location in Philadelphia!

And I am pleased that you found our "Rooms are clean, great beds, nice bathroom"; this is always great to hear.

Anyway, thanks again for your kind words and wonderful review...please come back and visit us soon!

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a sweet, old hotel in the heart of Old Town Philly. First, the staff is wonderful. The restaurant recommendations are excellent and they make your reservations. As is stated in other reviews, Lynn is terrific. She warned us about the dress code which some restaurants enforce namely, collared shirts for men and no athletic shoes. Kids are exempt. Remember this is a historic hotel so the rooms are not large but big enough and the bathrooms have been modernized. As other reviews warn, if you want a quieter night then stay in a back room. We stayed in 507 which was excellent with one caveat; avoid the sofa bed and get a roll-away if you have three like us. The room has a big flat screen t.v. and fresh white linens. The hotel is walking distance from all of the historic sites. No need for a car. The breakfast has everything you need to get the day started. And it was a nice touch to come back after walking and walking to find fresh lemon/lime ice water waiting along with cookies in the lobby. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great location to Independence Park and historical areas. Hotel was clean and the pull out bed was good for the kids. Must have the waffle with the liberty bell imprint. It was a hit with the kids. Price was good for the area. Parking is a couple blocks away but we had good weather and was not a problem. We dropped all luggage at the desk before parking and they brought it up to the room for us when it became available. Even hung up our coats. The buildings next door do not look great but there is alot of renovations being done in the area. It is old town. Eat at the Old City Tavern and Campos for great food and just around the block from the hotel.

Room Tip: We chose the top floor. It faced the old bank and park. Quiet for the most park on the weekend. Once...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel during our visit to Philadelphia for the U.S. Open and sightseeing. Upon our arrival we asked the lady in charge of the front desk, Lynn, for advice on restaurants within walking distance and other sightseeing tips. She was off the charts helpful – she listened to what types of food and restaurants we enjoyed and made 3 great recommendations, followed up with personal calls to each restaurant getting us great reservations even when the bookings were full. Lynn made our visit to Philadelphia really special. Although the location is great and our room was very nice, Lynn is why we will make this hotel our first choice upon return visits to Philadelphia.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was Very clean, very friendly staff, great breakfast, good location. The lobby was newly redone with beautiful wood floors. Only concern is access to floors was supposed to be by card key but doors were not locked.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We spent 5 nights in this hotel on our first visit to Philadelphia and we were not disappointed in any way. The location is ideal for visiting the many historic sites with the visitor's centre only a 5/6 minute walk away. The hotel building itself is on the US National Registry of Historic Places. Our room, on the fourth floor, was spacious, clean and comfortable. It was situated to the rear of the building and was very quiet. The room rate included a buffet breakfast which was perfectly adequate. Every afternoon the hotel provided tea, coffee and cookies and also, as compensation for the on-going lobby renovation works, laid on wine at the same time - a nice touch.
The hotel personnel were all friendly and helpful. There are many restaurants and bars in the immediate vicinity. A perfect place to stay when visiting this historical city - highly recommended.

Room Tip: As the hotel is situated in a fairly quiet location I would imagine that there would be not a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Jcrichton

Thanks for staying at the Independence Park Hotel and for telling the world how great a stay you had with us. We appreciate both!

I loved reading your review and knowing that we helped make your trip to Philadelphia a success; especially these 2 comments:

1."The hotel personnel were all friendly and helpful."

2. "A perfect place to stay when visiting this historical city - highly recommended."

Anyway, thanks again for staying with us...we look forward to your return!

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Address: 235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning to "Visit Philly" this Autumn or Winter, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We're located in Philadelphia's Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin's Post Office, Betsy Ross's House, the National Constitution Center and Penn's Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you're in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.