We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Stay here Again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #10 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Ludlow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Would Stay here Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great location in the center of the “old city”. Everything was within walking distance …Independence hall, Independence visitor center, Liberty bell, Old city hall, Second bank of U.S., Carpenters hall, The U. S. Mint, Betsy Ross house, Christ church, National Constitution Center. Did not need the car. Note: NO onsite parking. Had to park in public garage one block away. I would stay here again. Look into buying “The Philadelphia Pass” at the visitor center.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear 448Ken448,

Thanks for posting your stunning review on TripAdvisor; and of course for selecting our hotel for your stay in Philadelphia. It's clear you had a great time and we are happy to have been a part of your experience.

I especially liked reading when you wrote "Great location in the center of the “old city” and the "Everything was within walking distance" of the Independence Park Hotel. We could not have said it better ourselves. So THANKS!

Anyway, please come back again and take a look at our new lobby...it's almost complete and looking awesome!

Thanks again.

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    216
    49
    11
    11
See reviews for
192
244
34
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

You simply can't beat the location of this small Best Western - just steps away from the Liberty Bell, steps away from the outstanding Spanish restaurant, Amada, (and many other terrific eateries too numerous to mention), and steps away from beautiful parks and tree-lined neighborhoods bursting with character and charm.

If you're looking for luxury, look elsewhere. But, if cleanliness, affordability, convenience and friendly service is what you need, the BW Independence Park can't be beat.

The king room was spacious enough for two with high ceilings and plenty of storage. The bathroom as a nice size and there was plenty of natural light thanks to the very large window that overlooked an atrium-type external roof (no view).

The breakfast was adequate - fresh fruit, no-fat yogurt, a selection of juices, cereals, bagels, toast and sausages (for the life of me, I think the scrambled eggs started out as powder - but that's OK). And, of course, the ever popular Belgian waffle maker. (I don't get that, but people love them.) Coffee, tea, etc. Tea and cookies in the afternoon. All included.

We will return simply because of the location. You can easily get anywhere from here.

Room Tip: We've stayed here twice - once on the south (facing Chestnut Street) and once on the north side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel. Rooms were small but well done and very clean. Has great location to everything---just park your car and walk. Has very comfortable feel to this property and the staff is outstanding. Nice to stay at a hotel where the staff appears to enjoy their job and is helpful in every way possible. Lynn at front desk is outstanding and I would recommend this hotel to my friends.
Will be back again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Snickers,

"Great Hotel, Great Staff," what a fantastic review of the Independence Park Hotel. Thanks for the kind words and for telling the world about your stay on TripAdvisor. We appreciate both!

Yes, it is true that some of our rooms are a little smaller than today's blah blah chains, but they are filled with plenty of charm, modern comforts and all the amenities guests seek. I guess this is part of the historic experience when staying in a hotel that dates back to 1856!

Anyway, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Independence Park Hotel, our prime location and our first class staff.

Please come visit us again soon!

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We expected to have two king beds and they were rather small. One was all right for our daughter but the other a bit narrow for two adults.

Breakfast was outstanding and the service at desk appropriate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

When we read of an historic hotel in Philly, just in front of the Independence Park, and also a BW Plus, we thought we found our accomodation. The reality was disappointing. I cannot say it was terrible, but definitely not good. Our room was simply old, not historic, and from the fan came a heavy smell of smoke. The staff was correct, but not friendly. In conclusion, it is not a disaster, but definitely not good value for the (much) money they asked. It might be a Best Western, but well below the "Plus" level. Not very recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear LightMatt,

Thanks for staying with us at the Independence Park Hotel and for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry, but from your comments it appears that we did not meet your expectations and for this I apologize.

I am shocked that you smelled smoke from the AC unit, since we are a 100% non-smoking hotel and have been for several years. Nonetheless, we regret this situation.

As for your question about our location; please note that Independence Park spans several blocks and we are across the street from it as stated. Perhaps you were seeking "Independence Hall"; this landmark building is 2 blocks from our front door.

Anyway, we appreciate your feedback and hope you enjoyed your stay in Philadelphia. Thanks again for staying with us and for using TripAdvisor.

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This Best Western Hotel had the feeling of a boutique hotel. It was very charming. The hotel staff was wonderful and took the time to make each and every guest feel welcome. They gave us excellent suggestions for area restaurants and places to visit! We will stay there again when we return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The location of this hotel was perfect! We were able to park the car and walk to everything...the Liberty Bell, Betsy Ross house, etc. There were also tons of restaurants nearby. The rooms at the hotel were nice and clean and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast and afternoon tea and cookies were wonderful. The woman who works at the front desk during the evenings was fantastic! Se helped us find great restaurants and gave us great info about the area. Se was such a pleasure to deal with. Also, our blow dryer burnt out and I called the front desk and they immediately brought up another one...great customer service. We will stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Address: 235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning to "Visit Philly" this Autumn or Winter, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We're located in Philadelphia's Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin's Post Office, Betsy Ross's House, the National Constitution Center and Penn's Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you're in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.