We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

When we read of an historic hotel in Philly, just in front of the Independence Park, and also a BW Plus, we thought we found our accomodation. The reality was disappointing. I cannot say it was terrible, but definitely not good. Our room was simply old, not historic, and from the fan came a heavy smell of smoke. The staff was correct, but not friendly. In conclusion, it is not a disaster, but definitely not good value for the (much) money they asked. It might be a Best Western, but well below the "Plus" level. Not very recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear LightMatt,

Thanks for staying with us at the Independence Park Hotel and for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry, but from your comments it appears that we did not meet your expectations and for this I apologize.

I am shocked that you smelled smoke from the AC unit, since we are a 100% non-smoking hotel and have been for several years. Nonetheless, we regret this situation.

As for your question about our location; please note that Independence Park spans several blocks and we are across the street from it as stated. Perhaps you were seeking "Independence Hall"; this landmark building is 2 blocks from our front door.

Anyway, we appreciate your feedback and hope you enjoyed your stay in Philadelphia. Thanks again for staying with us and for using TripAdvisor.

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    245
    51
    12
    11
See reviews for
209
276
38
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This Best Western Hotel had the feeling of a boutique hotel. It was very charming. The hotel staff was wonderful and took the time to make each and every guest feel welcome. They gave us excellent suggestions for area restaurants and places to visit! We will stay there again when we return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The location of this hotel was perfect! We were able to park the car and walk to everything...the Liberty Bell, Betsy Ross house, etc. There were also tons of restaurants nearby. The rooms at the hotel were nice and clean and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast and afternoon tea and cookies were wonderful. The woman who works at the front desk during the evenings was fantastic! Se helped us find great restaurants and gave us great info about the area. Se was such a pleasure to deal with. Also, our blow dryer burnt out and I called the front desk and they immediately brought up another one...great customer service. We will stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very helpful and attentive staff (Lynn comes to mind), beautiful historic building, convenient area - couldn't have asked for more! My daughter left her IPOD in the room, and they called us so that we could come back to pick it up. Would most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Convenient to all the Independence Park historical sites, and Society Hill as well, this hotel is one I can wholeheartedly recommend. Also close to some great restaurants, and SEPTA (subway) stop. (Don't take a car if you can help it -- rather expensive to park.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinemont
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Spent 3 nights in the Best Western Plus - Independence Park, April 2013. We stayed on the top (5th) floor. The hotel is close to everything a tourist (like me) is looking for; restaurants, local sites (Independence Hall, Liberty Bell, etc.) and transportion all within walking distance. Our main reason to visit Philadelphia was to attend a concert at the Well's Fargo Center. From the Best Western to the Well's Fargo Center is some 5.5 miles away. We walked the 3 or 4 blocks to the 2nd Street subway station and rode the subway to the AT&T station outside all of the ball parks. Great convenience!

As for the Best Western Plus itself, we enjoyed our stay. This is the first time I can remember that I stayed in a hotel and wanted to buy the same mattress that was in my room (and pillows) and I probably will. Very comfortable stay in the room. The one negative for the room had to do with the doors rattling when a door down the hall slams shut. Its startling enough that you think someone is trying to get into your room. It would help if others would just close a door instead of slamming it shut (you know who you are).

Parking is off-site at $19 a day and there is very limited loading/unloading space in front of the hotel. I had to drag my luggage to the hotel from the 2nd floor of the parking deck 2 blocks away. For this reason I can't give the hotel an excellant rating. I would, however stay at this hotel again and would recommend it for anyone visiting the historic part of Philadelphia

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Located close to Independence Hall. Neighborhood felt safe. Cookies in afternoon, decent breakfast. Bed wasn't super comfortable, but it was ok. No on-site parking - $19 per day at a parking garage a couple of blocks away with no in-out privileges.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Address: 235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning to "Visit Philly" this Autumn or Winter, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We're located in Philadelphia's Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin's Post Office, Betsy Ross's House, the National Constitution Center and Penn's Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you're in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.