We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In The Midst of it All” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #13 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
Comstock Park
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“In The Midst of it All”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Very nice hotel in walking distance of all the historic sights in Old Town Philly. Clean room, good breakfast. Easy back on I-95 going south. Courteous, attentive staff.

Disadvantages-parking is two blocks away in parking ramp, $19.00 for 24 hours. There is free 20 minute parking right at the front door, but sometimes it is hard to find a space.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    165
    41
    10
    11
See reviews for
130
181
29
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, VA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Had a great time at the Independence Park Hotel. The staff was great and the location could not be beat. We could walk to all the historic sites and there were fantastic restaurants literally next door, down the street or a short walk away. Breakfast was good, but not fantastic, though it was nice that it was included in the room price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My 10-year-old granddaughter and I spent three nights at the BW Independence Park. She loved the old-fashioned feel of the place. It's location is ideal, with only a few blocks from most of the touring highlights of Philadelphia. Restaurants in the area abound. It is also very safe to walk around, even at night. The staff at reception were knowledgeable of the eateries in the area and that helped. Breakfast was not great, but OK. Our room had one queen-sized bed, which allowed for good room around it. The TV is in an armoire or highboy, but it didn't swivel, so you couldn't watch TV from bed. All in all, this is highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkman, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed on Wednesday and Thursday nites. The hotel is right on the edge of the historic district. Parking is not available on site but a nearby garage is very reasonable. You can easily walk to the historic sites. We took cabs otherwise. The desk staff was so helpful. Lynn made recommendations on where to eat (she was never wrong). She was always willing to help and was so pleasant. She made reservations for us twice and got us cabs as well. Unfortunately, we never had time for breakfast due to the fact that we were on a tight sight-seeing schedule, but it sure smelled good. There was always coffee and fruit available in the lobby. Free newspapers. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our visit to Philadelphia was effortless and memorable due to staying at the Independence Park Hotel. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the staff is very helpful, and the treats and breakfast are delicious. But the best part is the location. We never took a cab but managed to see all of the historic sights we were interested in because they were right in the neighborhood, some only a short block away. These include Independence Hall, the National Constitution Center, Independence Visitor Center, the Betsy Ross House, the Quaker Meeting House, and dozens of restaurants and other historic sites.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whippany, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Several couples wanted to visit some museums and we wanted a location nearby. We searched the various hotels in the area and picked the Best Western near Independence Hall. There is always a certain amount of concern before arrival, but in this case, it was unfounded. We were greeted warmly and all of our rooms were available before the official check-in time. All of us were happy with our rooms and the overall feel of the hotel. The free breakfast was very good and attended by several staff--not just thrown together to satisfy "the free breakfast" routine.

We only stayed one night, but I would not have minded staying longer and I will definitely come back the next time we are in Philadelphia.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on a weeknight while visiting Philadelphia. The location was fantastic. You are within walking distance to the historic sights and great restaurants. The staff was fabulous. During check-in, the lock on our door wouldn't work so maintenance was there in a flash to fix the problem. The rooms were clean but the bathroom was extremely small and did not seem heated. The main reason for the 3 stars and not higher is the price paid. The amount we paid here was higher than the military discount at the Omni (soldout). Therefore, it seemed very expensive for what you got.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western
Address: 235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re planning to “Visit Philly” this summer, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We’re located in Philadelphia’s Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin’s Post Office, Betsy Ross’s House, the National Constitution Center and Penn’s Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you’re in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.