We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay for an average price in an above average part of town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average stay for an average price in an above average part of town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I hate to give this hotel 3 stars but thats what it is. Its an average hotel. Nothing great but nothing really bad. I was super happy with the hotel. I have nothing bad to say about it. On our way to the Dominican Republic we had a little problem with my passport and had to stay here on a sunday night. luckily the us customs house is right across the street so thats why we picked it (short walk in the morning and we missed our flight ne ways) This hotel is in a historic section of town. lots of cool buildings and brick roads in the vicinity. lots of history and great achitecture. close to an awesome dave and busters too and a movie plex where we saw lord of the rings. it was probably the most fun night i had on vacation since dominican republic was horrible. i was actually happy the denied my passport and wouldnt let us board the plane sunday morning.

Room Tip: They are all good i guess
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    192
    47
    10
    11
See reviews for
184
214
32
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lititz
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here 1 weekend night. The staff was very friendly and hotel was very clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast included is good with hot and cold items. The location is perfect for doing the Independence National Park and the old city, all within short walking distance. Many restaurants also near the hotel. Will definitely stay here again if we do the old city again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed here for 1 nights but Staff was very helpful and friendly, especially Mr Craig in which he was able to check me in early. Location is convenient- short walk to subway which we took everywhere. Hotel was very clean and I loved the tea time. I'm looking to come back to Philly with my daughter for a weekend and will probably stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Hotel is in a great location in historic Old City, within walking distance to a number of attractions. Seem to have a very knowledgeble staff, and very friendly. Manager was also kind enough to help me out of a bind that I had with hotels.com (buyer beware!).

I will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Sulphur Springs, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I loved this place. It is beautiful, clean, comfortable. The front desk staff were by far the best I have encountered! The room was magnificent. It didn't look or feel like a motel room, more like a bedroom. The bed was so comfortable, I didn't want to get out of it. The breakfast room was nice and the staff helpful. I would highly recommend this motel for anyone staying in the Philadelphia area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Breezy6061,

"The BEST Best Western"; wow, what a great honor! We love your review and appreciate your posting your comments on TripAdvisor. Thanks.

And you had so many wonderful things to say about the Independence Park Hotel; "beautiful, clean, comfortable" plus, "magnificent, comfortable, helpful"...thank you, so much.

Anyway, I see you are from White Sulfur Springs, WV; home of the Greenbrier Resort; one of my favorite hotels. I am glad the Independence Park Hotel is now one of your favorite hotels!

Come back soon.

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe New Mexico
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

A family group stayed here in mid December 2012 to celebrate a 70th birthday. Ranged in age from 4 to 72. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. No request was too much for them to handle. They arranged taxis, restaurant reservations, gave bus instructions, etc. The lobby area was decorated for Xmas and we 'took it over' on several occasions to visit together. Even with lively small children no one complained. Decent buffet breakfasts. Very nice rooms, comfortable beds. I would especially like to thank Jessica Morris, General Manager, Jeanine San Lorenzo, Lynn O'Hare, and Angie A.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Best Western three times and have been completely satsified each time. The staff at check-in are pleasant, helpful and efficient. Check-in is a breeze. The rooms are big, clean and very nice. The mattresses are soooo comfortable. Late afternoon they serve delcious cookies and tea. The locartion is perfect! You are a couple of blocks from Independence Park, with-in walking distance to the theater district, and if you don't mind a little bit of a hike, you can walk to South Street for some delicious cheesesteaks. There are many restaurants by the hotel and tow parking garages right around the corner ($18-24 for overnight) The rates for the Best Western are outstanding for all that you get. The breakfast is fine---fruit, cereal, danish, muffins, waffles, yougurt, scrambled eggs (not so hot) and really good sausage. Great place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Address: 235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re planning to “Visit Philly” this summer, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We’re located in Philadelphia’s Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin’s Post Office, Betsy Ross’s House, the National Constitution Center and Penn’s Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you’re in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;