We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Big Plus for Independence Park Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Big Plus for Independence Park Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had a very good visit on 30 Dec 2012. Excellent check in staff and great location. Relatively easy to park at the City lot about a block away. Room was clean, roomy, modern, and well outfitted. Wireless worked fine. Lots of stuff to do around the area, including good restaurants. We asked the hotel to keep our bags until we departed on day of checkout, and they provided this without a question. We enjoyed the whole experience and we would recommend it and go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear AlexandriaVAJim;

Thank you for selecting the Independence Park Hotel and for telling the world about your enjoyable visit with us. We certainly appreciate both!

It was great to hear that you had an "Excellent check in" and that your "Room was clean, roomy, modern, and well outfitted." This is great news, since we are also Philadelphia's most historic hotel!

But of all the nice comments you wrote, my favorite is when you said " We enjoyed the whole experience and we would recommend it and go back without hesitation." This tells me that we did our job and that you enjoyed your stay at the Independence Park Hotel.

I will certainly share your review with our staff and look forward to your return!

Thanks

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    276
    53
    13
    12
See reviews for
239
305
42
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
warwick, ny
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Historic hotel with character. Very clean with friendly staff. Room #502 with alcove was very comfortable for two adults and two large teens, located on the back side of the hotel and was quiet. King bed was firm. Lobby has coffee, fruit, and cookies daily and lovely wine and cheese on Wednesday night. Breakfast was the same everyday, scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, muffins, bread, yogurt, fruit and cereal. Coffee was good. Staff was helpful and pleasant. Parking around the corner. Hotel is centrally located in the historic district. We walked everywhere including the penitentiary and The Franklin Institute. It took us about 25-30 minutes to get there but most historic sites are within a 2-10 minute walk. We had a great dinner at the City Tavern Restaurant.

Room Tip: Check in first. There is 30 minute parking in front of the hotel. The front desk will give you dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Very nice hotel in a restored building that is nothing like your run of the mill Best Western. Only two complaints. I) it was always quite chilly in the breakfast area and we ate there three days.
2) My biggest complaint was that the AAA book said "Parking On site-fee". This hotel's idea of "On Site" is a city parking garage a block away!! Cost us $55 for three days!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ridge, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Whenever I come to Philly, which is very often, my family and I stay at the Best Western. It is clean, the service could not be better, the location is extremely convenient and in a wonderful part of town.

An added bonus is the breakfast. The dining room and all of the facilities are beautifully furnished with periof furniture. And then, at 4, there is tea and cookies in the lobby.

This hotel does not feel like a hotel. It feels like you are staying at someone's home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was a great find in Philadelphia. We went for a quick AAA drive trip over a weekend. The weather was great, so we were able to walk all over the Old City. Something about the hotel reminded me of many in Europe or England. The room was clean and neatly furnished -- nothing spectacular, but a nice big TV and free wi-fi make up for a lot. :) The bed was really comfortable.The tea and cookies were a nice touch, and the breakfast was decent, but nothing special. What made this an exceptional stay were the location and the staff. Everyone was polite and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel is located within walking distance of the harbor and many historic sites. Unique building and location- room was comfortable and nice snacks in lobby. Also breakfast included. My husband and I walked to Independence Hall, Betsy Ross house, Liberty Bell, the Oldest Quaker church and oldest Jewish temple in Philadelphia. Enjoyed a delicious Philly cheesesteak sandwich a couple of blocks away at Campo's Deli. Great time in the birthplace of our country!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel & the location couldn't be better for alll the historical sites. The breakfast was wonderful & the staff were fantastic. There was a group of 4th Graders & the staff made the waffles for them. Lynn O'hare was also fantastic. I made my reservation thru her & she was at the front desk each evening always willing to answer questions. She even found informaton on a leaf I showed her that I had never seen before & they presented it to me as we checked out. Definitely above & beyond! The hotel is on the 'National Register of Historical Places' & est. 1856. Our room was perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel
City Center East
Omni Hotel at Independence Park
City Center East
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#15 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 2,270 reviews
City Center East
Penn's View Hotel
Penn's View Hotel
#13 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Address: 235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning to "Visit Philly" this Autumn or Winter, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We're located in Philadelphia's Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin's Post Office, Betsy Ross's House, the National Constitution Center and Penn's Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you're in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.