We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right where you want to be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #11 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Right where you want to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel is located within walking distance of the harbor and many historic sites. Unique building and location- room was comfortable and nice snacks in lobby. Also breakfast included. My husband and I walked to Independence Hall, Betsy Ross house, Liberty Bell, the Oldest Quaker church and oldest Jewish temple in Philadelphia. Enjoyed a delicious Philly cheesesteak sandwich a couple of blocks away at Campo's Deli. Great time in the birthplace of our country!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    165
    41
    10
    11
See reviews for
130
181
29
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel & the location couldn't be better for alll the historical sites. The breakfast was wonderful & the staff were fantastic. There was a group of 4th Graders & the staff made the waffles for them. Lynn O'hare was also fantastic. I made my reservation thru her & she was at the front desk each evening always willing to answer questions. She even found informaton on a leaf I showed her that I had never seen before & they presented it to me as we checked out. Definitely above & beyond! The hotel is on the 'National Register of Historical Places' & est. 1856. Our room was perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

An old building that adds to the charm of staying close to Old Town. Great location for sightseeing, restaurants and night life within walking distance. Rooms are a little small but have high ceilings and large updated bathrooms. The front desk staff are incredibly nice and go out of their way to be helpful. They recommended great places to eat within walking distance of the hotel. With tea & cookies, and sometimes wine and cheese in the evening, as well as complimentary breakfast, it felt like we staying at a bed and breakfast, instead of a hotel! Well worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have stayed here many times. The staff is friendly, helpful and just really pleasant. They always seem happy to see me again. The rooms are great, the location is outstanding and though the street can be a bit noisy at night, the widows have been reworked so that very little noise gets through.

Room Tip: They are all good as far as I can tell, and I have stayed in many of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

A charming small hotel in the Old City section of Philadelphia. We were greeted warmly by the staff who honestly answered questions about where to eat dinner. We took their advice and were pleased. Another nice note we arrived just as the wine and cheese offerings were being concluded buy they stayed open so that we could partake. The staff provides nice touches for the comfort of their guests. We stayed once before and came back and we will do so again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Be prepared for a small room (albeit with nice high ceilings) The main fault is the poor quality mattress and the squeaky bed.
The room featured an old small tube TV and the hotel offered limited breakfast selections (the breakfast area blares a noisy radio! )

In any other location this is a $60 room, but this excellent location jacked the price to $200 +

The next time i'm in the Old City I'll be searching out another hotel. The Independence Park is ONE AND DONE.




.

Room Tip: AVOID the ground floor! The staff are very loud and that noise travels down the hall into the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My third stay, and always impressed with charm of lobby, room decor, and breakfast room. Daily hot drinks and cookies, Wednesday wine and cheese - in lobby. Only hitch this time was Inattention of cleaning staff to bath soap renewal - ran out, and discard of used shampoo and conditioner bottles. Made me wonder if they cleaned the tub.
Breakfast, as in some other Best Westerns features a make it yourself waffle machine, plus scrambled eggs, toast. Small Danish cakes always a disappointment - just not good! Cupcakes, blueberry and chocolate, excellent.
Bed very plush and most comfortable.

Room Tip: Despite bubbles above, there is neither pool nor fitness center. There is more than enough to do in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Herredvard,

Thanks for your continued support of the Best Western Independence Park Hotel and for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate both.

We are pleased that you are "always impressed" with the "charm of the lobby, room decor and breakfast room". And it seems that you also enjoy our complimentary "hot drinks and cookies" and our “Wednesday wine and cheese" receptions.

In regard to your comments about our complimentary breakfast and breakfast, thanks for the feedback; we are always seeking ways to improve our offerings.

Anyway, thanks again for your repeat business and for telling the world about our “very plush and most comfortable" beds.

Come back soon!

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western
Address: 235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re planning to “Visit Philly” this summer, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We’re located in Philadelphia’s Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin’s Post Office, Betsy Ross’s House, the National Constitution Center and Penn’s Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you’re in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.