We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location with good services” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #10 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect location with good services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

First, the location is ideal to explore the historical parts of the old town like Liberty Bell and also very close to MINT where visitors can observe how the dollar changes are made. We stayed in a suite on the top floor, which is big enough to accommodate 3 people. Although everything looks like and smells as an old hotels, it's true the room is spotless clean and all work well.
The hotel is also within easy walk distance to some very good local restaurants and to subway. We used the subway to visit Pennsylvania University and take our trains.
Second, we're indeed impressed by the efficiency of services here. As soon as you any any request, the reception staffs can handle very fast either for the sofa bed or rental of an umbrella. Breakfast is served in their glass ceiling room with a lot of choices. People can make pancakes on their own. The lobby area is very charming. There are lemonade and fresh fruits all day. In one word, very pleasant stay during our recent tour on the eastern coast (before Sandy came of course).

Room Tip: The suite could be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    216
    49
    11
    11
See reviews for
192
244
34
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is positioned perfectly for seeing all the historical sites. You can easily walk to Independence Hall, Congress & Carpenter's Hall, the Constituion Center, the Liberty Bell, Betsy Ross' house, Ben Franklin's prinitng press shop & Society Hill. There are also innumerable restaurants & bars/cafes to explore.
The staff was very friendly & accommodating. The free breakfast was nice & the afternoon cookies & coffee/tea was also a nice touch.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor & it was a little noisy on Saturday night. No matter what day you s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very helpful and friendly staff.Ideal location in Philadelphia for sightseeing. Easy walking distance to Independence Hall & Liberty Bell. Room was a bit small but adequate especially as we were sightseeing every day. Breakfast was average but was complimentary.My wife liked the fact that she could made waffles for breakfast, nice touch. When I return to Philadelphia I will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The property has more than its perfect location going for it. This is our third stay. Family business brings us to Philly and each time we stay here. Staff is courteous and accomodating. The location is within short walking distance to numerous historical sites, musuems and great restaurants. Off-site parking is close and convenient. Rooms are small but nicely appointed and clean,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Werty1234

Thanks for posting your fantastic review on TripAdvisor! Wow, it looks like the Independence Park Hotel is your favorite hotel in Philadelphia; that's great!

I'm not sure which of your comments I enjoyed reading more, our "perfect location” our “nicely appointed and clean" rooms or that our "staff was courteous and accommodating". They are all thrilling to read.

But, if I had to select one item from your review that shows how my staff takes great care of you and how much you enjoyed your stay with us; it would be when you said “This is our third stay" and that you always "stay here".

We certainly appreciate your business and this stunning review you posted on TripAdvisor. Thanks so much!

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint James, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We originally needed to cancel an earlier reservation because of my daughters work schedule and the manager was wonderful, and I promised we would stay there our next trip to Philly. I am glad we did, rooms nice and clean, staff polite and breakfast was good. Would stay there again,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockeysville, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Hubby & I just needed a break, took a 3 night weekend in Philly & stayed here in part to support that it is a repurposed buidling on the list of preserved historic properties--so yes, that translates into rooms that are limited by older architectural techniques/size et al. For us, just fine. We stayed in Room 402, oddly shaped, but great view of the "lantern steeple" of the commerce buidling and of the neo-romanesque U.S. Customs House ( I think that would also be true for 403, 502 & 503; seemed like there wouldn;t be much of a view eleshwere). The trade off was some road noise and bar noise (we are country people). Everything clean, nice linens, odd upholstery/curtain choices but so what. We loved the location, we walked everywhere--great walking city. Staff all friendly, and desk staff Donna was especially helpful with advice and recommendations (when you are going out to dinner, mention to the desk clerk where you are headed--they have coupons that are not on public display for some places --Donna gave us a coupon for a BOGO free at the expensive City Tavern (by the way, we were not too impressed with the place--we'll write a review in the restaurant column). It was really nice to walk to resaurants at night (kudos to Barra and also to Panini's, which was great if you have a person who wants a Philly cheese steak for dinner but you like to have a glass of wine at dinner--they pour complimenary wine, which was surprisingly good pinot noir for us) and walk home safely. We spent a lot of time at the various history spots and also just sitting in the many little garden areas in theOld city. I thought breakfast was fine--i am a healthy eater, so raisin bran, yogurt, good coffee (I'm picky) & OJ were all good, over a free Philadelphia Inqirer. Hubby--big eater--said eggs were dry but loved the waffle maker. Also, the late afternoon tea and cookies is a nice touch, a great pick me up between a day of sightseeing and getting ready for the evening. For us, especially for the price, this hotel was just right. The only idea would be a mini bar in the room--there only is a "snackpack" in the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotelis near the the historic area of Philadelphia and within walking distance of Independence Hall, and Liberty Bell .Hotel stay was pleasant despite the small room...The staff at the hotel was friendly and helpful .Breakfast was ok ....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear ofray,

We certainly appreciate your gracious TripAdvisor comments and also your selecting the Independence Park Hotel for your stay in Philadelphia. It's always great to know when our guests enjoyed their visit with us, so thanks!

It's also nice to know that you found our staff "friendly and helpful” and that you enjoyed our great location; "within walking distance of Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell".

In regard to your comment about our smaller room size, this is true and due to our 1856 roots, we are the most historic hotel in Philadelphia! We do have many larger rooms as well as other room types, so perhaps you may wish to select one of these on your next visit.

Anyway, we love helping to make our guests visit to Philadelphia enjoyable and we're happy to be of service to you.

Thanks again for telling the world about your wonderful experience at the Independence Park Hotel.

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Address: 235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning to "Visit Philly" this Autumn or Winter, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We're located in Philadelphia's Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin's Post Office, Betsy Ross's House, the National Constitution Center and Penn's Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you're in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.