We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and Charming Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Lovely and Charming Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

I was going to Philly for a friend's wedding and loved my little room. I stayed the weekend and due to the Best Western's great location was able to explore the city a bit before the wedding festivities without having to take a cab or take public transportation. The hotel doesn't have a gym in it, but you can get a day pass for $10 to the gym down the street (only a few blocks away). The rooms were clean and the staff were nice and helpful. I wish the lighting in the bathroom was a little better and that there was wireless internet in the rooms, instead of ethernet internet in the rooms,but otherwise it was a good deal and I would totally stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    198
    47
    10
    11
See reviews for
186
226
32
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, TX
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

The hotel was nice. Breakfast was just fine... no need to up grade. We found the hotel to be REALLY loud. Every morning we were woken up by something (construction, drunks, etc.). The room was a lot smaller than we thought, but decent. The staff was GREAT! So nice and sweet. Lots of great places to eat in the area. Expect to pay a lot for dinner, transportation, etc.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

It is a fine, reasonably-priced place to stay for visiting the historical city - only a block or two from the Liberty Bell Museum, Independence Hall and other attractions, and walking distance (10 blocks) to Convention Hall. Staff was uniformly friendly and helpful at all times. Be aware that there is no parking; a 3-day stay added $54. in parking fees, and there is no in and out - once you leave, you can't come back unless you are willing to pay full rate again. Free breakfast is modest - cereals, muffins, juice and coffee. We were a bit taken aback by the bottle of flavored water in the room that was offered at $3. A free bottle of plain water would have been a nicer touch. However, there were tea and cookies in the lobby each afternoon, and wine and cheese one day. Many restaurants of all types close by - many a bit pricey for the rundown neighborhood east of the hotel - one hopes the restaurants are helping to bring the neighborhood back since everything west of the hotel is the well-kept historical area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

This used to be an outstanding hotel--convenient, clean, and quiet. Now there is a night club next door with pounding bass until 2 am even on weekdays. The vibrations were so bad the windows in my room rattled with every THUNKA-THUNKA. The staff kindly moved me from the second to the fourth floor, but that was no improvement at all. It's a shame, I used to stay there a lot: the hotel is lovely, the staff helpful, the location convenient--but you can't sleep there anymore until that nightclub is closed down.

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

The hotel was perfectly situated for the four of us adults to enjoy many amenities of the wonderful city of Philadelphia. One day we walked over 7 miles in pursuit of seeing the many historical buildings and sites from our fore fathers time in the city. We encouraged all who will listen to make time to go to Philadelphia and revisit the beginnings of our marvelous country. It would be worthwhile, we felt, if all politicians would be required to spend two days reviewing the history behind the men and their principles that created our government.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Loved the fruit/wine & cheese and cookies in the lobby. The small room was nicely decorated and felt "cozy", rather than "cramped"... like a real "country inn". GREAT location near Independence Hall, but our objective was the new National Museum of American Jewish History which is just two blocks away. Excellent selection of restaurants within a two-block radius of the hotel. Easy on/off the Ben Franklin Bridge to New Jersey.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

We only stayed one night but we were definitely pleased with the accommodations provided. If I had ANY complaint, it would be that when we first turned the shower on (at around 7pm) the water was luke warm at best, but just when I was feeling down about it, it started to heat up and we didn't have a problem again. The rooms were clean and well kept and the whole hotel is very cute!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Address: 235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re planning to “Visit Philly” this summer, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We’re located in Philadelphia’s Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin’s Post Office, Betsy Ross’s House, the National Constitution Center and Penn’s Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you’re in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.