We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Good on the budget, that's all” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Philadelphia Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Philadelphia Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Philadelphia Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast
752 South 10th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19147   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$95 (USD)
Ranked #12 of 26 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good on the budget, that's all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Located off of South Street - the B and B is located about a 20 minute walk from the historic district. We took the Lady Liberty Shuttle from the airport for a cost of $10.00 per person - in hindsight - we should have taken a taxi which would have cost only slightly more. The shuttle stopped at numerous hotels before we finally reached our destination.

We were assigned the room called Utopia - it was comfortable enough but the lighting was very poor, and the room shared a bathroom with another room which meant getting ready in the morning was a challenge. The two rooms also shared a common kitchen.

I am uncertain why this establishment calls itself a B and B - the beds were fine, the breakfast was not. I have stayed at Comfort Inns that have provided more variety. Breakfast was help yourself with bread and rolls provided on a counter in the lobby. Choice was slim and stale - fruit was or was not available. Juice, milk and water was provided in the fridge located in the shared kitchen and coffee was help yourself. During our three night stay I never did find any sugar or the homemade muffins advertsied on their website. Yougurt is also available upon request - although I don't know how you can make a request as I never saw a service person during our entire stay. Nor did I feel very welcomed.

There was an air of disrepair throughout the B and B - paint was chipped, carpets thread bare, and I did not find the Inn very inviting. The rooms looked very worn and not at all as crisp and inviting as pictured on the web site.

However, as a base, the Inn was Ok. But the location and price point overrided our disappointment.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    31
    22
    8
    19
See reviews for
29
64
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

I recently stayed at the Bella Vista in the Tip Top suite. It was a really fantastic stay. This suite was more than comfortable. The room was clean, the staff kept the refrigerator stocked with water and juice, there is candy/popcorn/light snacks/condiments there for your own consumption and use, and the bathroom was well maintained. A home away from home. The only con I could see for other people is that the bed is rather firm, but that didn't bother me. The Bella Vista is located in a great area, with the Italian market right around the corner and Pat's/Geno's nearby. This B&B is truly a gem, I would definitely recommend it. Great area, great staff, great B&B.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Lovely home in the heart of Phily, great location near shopping and bus stops. All the amendments of home with treats in the room, as well as lots of breakfast items. Very quiet and overlooking a quaint street in a safe part of town. It was the perfect place to stay while visiting UPenn with my daughter and an easy bus ride to the school without the hassles of finding expense parking downtown.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

I stayed here because it was recommended by a friend who has relatives who live across the street. I stayed one night for pleasure travel. The whole time I was there, I was never offered so much as a glass of water. There was no drinking glass in the bathroom. I finally stopped and bought myself bottled water. It had a bed, which was not uncomfortable, in a "funky" room; the headboard was not attached to the bed and banged against the wall when you leaned against it. The point of renting out rooms seems to be to pay for the renovation of additional space. Why call it a B&B when you intend to show so little hospitality? Luckily, there are lots of great places around to get a cup of coffee and breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

We got married last April and took over the B&B for close family and friends' accommodations. What a find, in our beloved neighborhood near the Italian Market in Philadelphia. The owners were so delightful that we wanted them to party with us after the wedding: they felt like family too, and they let us use their kitchen for prep for the evening party. It's down-home delight plus Victorian splendor with plenty of funky old-house fun, and a back patio that was just right for wine and conversation. I could not have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

The b&b is so nice, so sweet, so quiet, so cozy... that you'll fell in love with it! Each room is completely different one each other, and every room has a particular furniture.
Staff is kind and you really feel pampered! You can always find, during the whole day, something home-made to eat in the corridors (sweets or fruits). Our accommodation was super: it had an entrance where you could have your in-room breakfast, a mini-fridge, clean bathroom, spacious room. The area is pretty good and you can walk just 5 minutes to arrive to the historical area of Philadelphia!
We highly recommend Philadelphia Bella Vista B&B!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

For a long weekend (three nights) in Philly on a tight budget and last minute booking (a month in advance) Bella Vista Bed & Breakfast fit the bill.

Outback room for $115 a night + tax
The room was in the back and had a it's own entry way after you walk through the main house and out the side door. There's a lovely garden area but it went unused due to the cold weather. It was clean with a lot of charm and a kitchenette that included a brita water filter, min fridge with complementary juice, bottled water and condiments and an adorable dinette set and china cabinet.

What was great is that they have yearly family passes that they lend out free of charge that gives you free entrance to the Museum of Art (Adults:$16/Seniors:$14/Students:$12) and Franklin Institute (Adults:$15.50/Seniors:$14.50 /Child:$12.00).

The breakfast was just an assortment of croissants, muffins, bread and fruit in the lobby but at that price and with Sabrina's Cafe a 5 min walk away a larger breakfast was unnecessary. The room was stocked with guide books, maps and a binder of helpful information put together by the innkeepers.

The location was good, esp if you like food as it's a short walk to the Italian market and some of Philly's best pastry and sandwich shops (see my other reviews!). If you're up to it the walk to center city/Historic District isn't short but lovely esp if you walk through Society Hill.

Overall a comfortable and enjoyable stay in Philly!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Philadelphia Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast

Address: 752 South 10th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Philadelphia Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Bella Vista b&b
Philadelphia Bella Vista Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philadelphia Bella Vista Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.