We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tavern 17

Tavern 17
220 S 17 St, Philadelphia, PA 19019 (City Center West)
(215) 790-1799
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tavern 17 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #876 of 3,786 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: Chancellor Street
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

wonderful food and friendly service. Goat Cheese and Mushroom Omlette and Banana French Toast are a must

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    24
    22
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A good place to get out of the heat, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were looking for a place to cool down with a drink before heading out of town on the train.
Tavern 17 is located in a hotel, just off the lobby. It was cool and we could easily get a seat, so it was perfect for what we needed. The beer selection was limited and the cocktails were basic bar options. They had a bar menu offering a few small plates of food. Prices were typical for a hotel bar and happy hour is only offered during the week. The bartender was great. He was attentive but not overwhelming. We ordered a few of the small plates and he definitely let us know what he recommended and what he didn't recommend on the menu. I appreciate honesty when getting menu recommendations from the staff and we went with a few of his favorites. We were not disappointed. The short rib quesadilla was excellent along with the hummus plate. The oven baked goat cheese was fine, but I wouldn't order it again. I would go to this bar if you need somewhere to get refreshed or are in the area, but I wouldn't make it a destination.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“If You Are Searching for a Decent Bar in Philly, Try Tavern 17!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Due to family logistics, we had a couple of hours to spare before heading to Parc for dinner. Take two grown sons, a mom, her fiance, the NBA playoffs with the Knicks and the Celts, a search around the Rittenhouse area for a bar with a TV and whatja got? Tavern 17 at the Warwick. OK..so it's been a long, long time since I've set foot in a sports bar. My sons were in desparate need of an update on the playoff game, so we ended up at Tavern 17. At 4PM on a Saturday afternoon, the bar was quiet, but had two TV's--and the game was ON! The bar is a nice size, not cramped and it doesn't smell like an old man's bar. A good selection of beers was available, the bartender was actually very adept. He left us alone and knew when to refill. Nice.
If you are looking to watch a game in a civilized environment I would suggest Tavern 17. Note..we did not eat here, we only stopped for drinks..and for a nice bar for drinks, this is decent. Right before we left, the bar started to get crowded, but the crowd was still not rowdy...it was nice..
Nice place, nice ambience, good bartenders. Good sports on TV. Pretty much covers it!
Thank you for reading and if you are around Rittenhouse Square in Philly and have a bit of time to kill, stop at the bar...its nice!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yuck”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Awful Food, slow service, Never open ....weird hours
bad bartending. No kids menu?? needs to be imploded!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice place for a drink or late night munchies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If your staying at the Radisson this is a good place for drinks, light dinner or late night snacks. Service is excellent a the food very good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern 17 also viewed

 

Been to Tavern 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavern 17, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.