We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strong cup of joe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old City Coffee

Old City Coffee
221 Church St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2956 (City Center East)
(215) 592-1897
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #309 of 3,780 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Neighborhood: City Center East
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: City Center East
Motta Sant'Anastasia, Italy
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Strong cup of joe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice cup of coffee but strong. The mocha was great and I lived the salted Carmel flavor option. Cute place and worth a stop of in need of coffee or killing time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Had time on the meter after a hair appointment in the city and decided to stop for a coffee and muffin. I had no idea it was going to be such a "wow" experience! I had the best cup of coffee and best muffin -- the modestly-named, highly healthy, absolutely scrumptious "Nuffin" -- I've ever had in the Delaware Valley. Who knew? Well, now I do...and now, you, too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yummy coffee and cake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stopped here yesterday to get some morning coffee at the Reading Terminal Market. It was fresh and of excellent quality. I also ordered a slice of apple cake. Yummy! Fresh apples baked right in.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Coffee Shop in Olde City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The atmosphere of this coffee shop is gritty/Victorian. They have homemade soups and pastries. Coffee is a bit strong for my palate.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saba
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great coffee first thing Sunday morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was so happy to find someplace open at 7am on Sunday morning. The coffee was delicious and a decent price. The cafe is located on Church street which has a fabulous old European feel to it and was nice to visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old City Coffee also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Old City Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old City Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.