We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best gelato in Philly, hands down.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capogiro Gelateria

Capogiro Gelateria
119 S 13th St, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)
(215) 351-0900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 3,785 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Dessert, Italian, Fast Food, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: City Center East
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best gelato in Philly, hands down.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Very unique flavors, huge breadth of choice, traditional (e.g. hazelnut) and diverse combos that I would have never expected (e.g. mango champagne). Portions are well sized, and you're allowed as many taste samples as you'd like!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    64
    22
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Authentic gourmet gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Walking into this gelateria, you know you're about to experience something extraordinary! Yes, they have different cones and bowls, tr vehicle for the gelato. For the mere fact that they offer different flavors makes it worth the money spent.. Amish Milk, Thai Basil, wasabi.... Then the standards... Nocciola, stracciatella, Nutella, tiramisu ....
Stephanie CourtneyIt's just like being in Italy.... Highly highly recommended !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Worth the calories!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Finally stopped in to try Capogiro last weekend. My husband and I shared three flavors of gelato: cioccolato scuro (a seriously dark chocolate), stracciatella (milk gelato with dark chocolate slivers), and avocado (vegan!). I was impressed by what a rich, luscious experience and 'mouthfeel' it provided, given that gelato by definition is less fatty/creamy than traditional American ice cream. The avocado in particular was the smoothest, velvetiest, creamiest ice cream experience I have ever had — so, it was hard to believe it was vegan! We both try to eat healthfully most of the time, but my husband is particularly spartan in that regard — he is about 90% vegan these days — and his comment was "This was worth breaking my dietary restrictions." And I agree: totally worth the calories! Bear in mind that this is not ice cream for kids; stick to super-sweet Bassett's for the young, and for those with a less refined palate. But if it's a serious, grownup, foodie treat that you want? Head straight for Capogiro's. They sell some flavors at many cafés in the city, but my advice is to go to a *real* Capogiro, so you can have the full array of flavors. And trust me: you want to try the avocado! So different, yet so delicious!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Gelato in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The design, the warm greeting as soon as you walk in, ...everything about this place makes you want to stay in and try every scoop of their fresh flavors ! Never tasted anything like this before.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
“Return visit - still awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This time I had banana & burnt sugar flavors... tasted like bananas foster, without the fire! :-) My husband had 3 different chocolate flavors. We both really enjoyed the gelato, as well as the people watching out the window. Location is excellent for a quick stop, and the gelato is totally worth the splurge!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capogiro Gelateria also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Capogiro Gelateria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capogiro Gelateria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.