We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Mechanics Bar & Restaurant

National Mechanics Bar & Restaurant
22 S 3rd St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2701 (City Center East)
215-701-4883
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #126 of 3,481 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bar, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Center East
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Happened upon this place. Good was very very good, and great brews. We had a blast and the people were awesome! I would plan a visit if you can.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    26
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, Florida
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Really Neat off the Tourist Path location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stumbled on this one leaving the Historical Section as we were heading to Penns Landing and I am very pleased we stopped there. It is really a bar with some tables but because it is off the tourist path, it mostly seemed to have locals and a more relaxed vibe. If one was not paying attention, one would walk right by as the façade is more "museum like" in appearance. The interior was quite neat. The prices are what one would expect eating dinner in Philly. They easily accommodated our party of 8 at around 6:30 PM. The staff was very attentive and responsive. The place is probably best though for teens and adults as the "kid-options" are limited. The burger was a bit underdone (I wanted Medium it was more medium rare so be aware of that) but still very tasty along with the onion rings. One of the party had lamp chops and he said they were quite good. The chocolate debauchery for dessert (a five layer cake) was awesome but it could have used ice cream which they did not have. The menu had a good variety, there was a full bar, and there was free Wi-Fi. If I lived in Philly, I would spend a lot of time in this location.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cool restaurant in restored 19tyh century building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Visited Philadelphia over Memorial Day weekend and stopped in for lunch here. Very interesting interior with ample seating, noise level was quite tolerable (at least at lunchtime) and the food well prepared. The cream of mushroom soup special tasted great and the Monte Cristo sandwich was excellent. I'd come here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great, laid back lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I was just here over the weekend for lunch with some friends – instantly recognizing it as the old Revival nightclub!!! Glad to see the awesome building is now a valid, very cool restaurant and bar!
The lunch / lite brunch menu wasnt huge, but it was still hard to pick a selection! I wound up ordering the grilled chicken sandwich, something I normally wouldnt order "out" since it seems so common. This was was really really tasty. A perfectly seasoned, JUICY chicken breast with the perfect amount of grill char. Awesome! My friends had some of the egg dishes which they liked a lot! It was a great, laid back meal with a pleasant and friendly server! The atmosphere is really cozy with LOTS of wood and wonderful lighting. The build your own Bloody Mary "station" was unreal and I would be up for trying that out next time! As well as going back to explore the dinner menu!!! Great job on this one!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
2 reviews
“Great place for Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Had a great Breakfast on Saturday morning. They don't open until 11:00 but it was worth the wait. Service was great and the staff works well together.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Mechanics Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to National Mechanics Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Mechanics Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.