We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Greek food...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Estia Restaurant

Estia Restaurant
1405 Locust St, Philadelphia, PA 19102-3807
215-735-7700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Estia Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 3,785 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: On Locust btwn 15th and Broad
Transit: Septa & Patco
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Greek food...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had to go to Philly to pick up a relative coming in on a late evening flight, so decided to go early in the day to take in some of the sites and have a nice meal. We chose Estia for dinner. It is a beautiful space...a converted old theater with arches and stone tiles. I go to Greece every year and am pretty critical of American-style Greek restaurant food. Not a problem at Estia...their food is the real thing!
We shared an assortment of mezedes - dips and pies. All were delicious. For an entree I had the fish of the day, it was light and perfectly cooked. It was served with vegetables, cooked forever in a olive oil and tomato broth. Excellent! The rich apple cake was also spot on...moist and delicious. Next time I am in Philly I will definitely go back to Estia..

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    84
    29
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent greek restaurant with parking garage next door”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

If you have a car and know how difficult parking is in Philly, this restaurant has a bonus parking garage right next door. The restaurant has two floors. Tables are spread out enough so neighborly revelry is not intrusive. The wait staff was very attentive and could answer all questions. I had the 'theater menu' with light grilled fish. The deal includes appetizer, entre, and dessert for $30.00. An excellent value.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is my go-to Greek restaurant when I want to impress someone. Always great dishes and wonderful staff.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect service and wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our son's film was being shown at the Philadelphia Independent Film Festival and we had dinner at Estia with his co-director, his parents and a few friends before the event. It is hard to find a restaurant that can seat 10 people, get everyone's orders straight and serve excellent food to all. Estia managed it perfectly. Our server, Deena, was the consummate professional -- explaining the dishes, making recommendations and remembering the details of each order. The food was delicious. We ordered a range of appetizers (the fried eggplant and zucchini was the favorite, thin slices with a tzadeki dip) and entrees. My halibut was terrific as were my son's lamb chops. Others raved about the sea bass and tuna. The meal was fairly expensive but an excellent value. I would definitely recommend Estia.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Contemporary Greek and wonderful.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Had a great meal of contemporary adaptations of Greek classics. The service was a bit dicey, because it is a place with lots of repeat customers and sometimes us newbies get lost in the bustle.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estia Restaurant also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Estia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estia Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.