We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Greek Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estia Restaurant

Estia Restaurant
1405 Locust St, Philadelphia, PA 19102-3807
215-735-7700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Estia Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 3,481 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: On Locust btwn 15th and Broad
Transit: Septa & Patco
Medford, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding Greek Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My five friends and I met for lunch and enjoyed a delicious meal on a weekday in the summer. Service was outstanding...lunches, although pricy (@ $30 with tip) we all said we'd return for the ambiance and the taste. The lunch was listed at $17, however that didn't include coffee or dessert which each of us had. I made reservations beforehand, but didn't really need them as the restaurant was not at all crowded, however we appreciated having a table ready which was set nicely and waiting for us. The waiter (Greek) was very attentive, pleasant, and helpful with suggestions. The bread and hummus to start the meal was delicious. Parking around the corner was easy, and there is a PATCO subway to station right on the corner for NJ guests.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    95
    29
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Always a winner for me!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have been going to Estia for several years and have never been disappointed. I can order the "Greek" (Horiatiki) salad in the middle of winter and still get the ripest tomatoes as if they were just picked from the vine. The hummus is beyond excellent with just the right amount of garlic and the bread (with its hard crust) tastes like it just came out of the oven. Of course, fish is one of their specialties but the lamb chops with those olive oil roasted potatoes is perfection. One of my favorite appetizers are the Estia chips. They take a few minutes to prepare but are worth the wait. This is a restaurant where you can dine on appetizers/salads and sometimes I have done just that. All desserts are good but as you leave there is a plate of cookies not far from the door from which you will take a final, sweet taste of an excellent meal. Thanks Elizabeth (a fine waitress)!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I was very impressed with not only the atmosphere but also the quality of the meal and the service. It was very convenient to walk to and we were able to make a reservation online.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Estia Excellence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Beautifully appointed restaurant with various levels and intimate spaces. Service was efficient, knowledgeable and friendly. We were able to order from the pre-theatre menu even though it was 7:30pm, which was a plus for being reasonably priced with a nice selection. The grilled octopus app was flavorful and tender. My husband ordered the spanikopita which was a large portion and excellent. Dinner was fresh grilled fish with vegetables - perfectly cooked. Husband had the lamb chops which were perfectly prepared. Mom was a little disappointed with the Moussaka as not as well cooked as she would have liked. Overall, would definitely recommend and return again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fish by the Pound”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a reliable restaurant to eat at before a show at the Academy of Music. The menu is good and the octopus makes a visit worth the trip. The service was attentive and knowledgeable. There is a reasonably priced wine list with some interesting choices.That said, beware of the menu as a number of the fish selections are by the pound. We ordered Black Sea Bass at $39 a pound that turned into a $89 fish. Not quite bait and switch but almost..... An alternative is the show menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estia Restaurant also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Estia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estia Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.