We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Estia Restaurant

Estia Restaurant
1405 Locust St, Philadelphia, PA 19102-3807 (City Center West)
215-735-7700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Estia Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 3,722 restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center West
Cross street: On Locust btwn 15th and Broad
Transit: Septa & Patco
Cherry Hill, NJ
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

The waiter brought the main course and instead of picking up the appetizer dishes, he used the main course plate to push them out of the way. I had to ask to have the appetizer dishes removed. I then had to ask twice for a knife with which to cut the lamb chops. The service should be much better at an upscale restaurant such as this. The food was pretty good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    153
    74
    26
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Incredible!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

A friend and I recently attended a ballet in Philadelphia. After the show, we decided to eat at Estia since they offered a prix fixe dinner! Unfortunately, we hadn’t made reservations and the restaurant was booked solid, so we chose to sit at the bar. It was a wise choice to stay! The food was incredible and the service was impeccable! We enjoyed every last morsel and cannot wait to go there again. We’ll be sure to make reservations in advance as it obviously a very popular site for the theater crowd and not just because of its location! Great food, good ambiance, and excellent service!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have dined here at least five times over the past 4 years and it is consistently delicious. A favorite thing to do is to dine at the bar with a friend and enjoy an assortment of appetizers. The calamari is remarkable as well as the scallops. All the fish dishes have been amazing. Can't recall having dessert, but I would imagine it would be great too.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I had the sea bass, as per recommendation of the waiter. It was very well cooked, and the dish was very tasty. I liked the place very much!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Solid and predictable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We have been going to Estia for years. We go there for drinks, lunch, snacks, and dinner at least 10 times a year because it is so convenient to shows and performances. Estia is a solid, solid retaurant, whose management is smart enough to not mess around with a menu that works. So they have all time winners, such as the fried cheese, Estia chips (to die for), moussaka and other mainstays that have become comfort food for me. The wait staff are efficient and pleasant. Service is invariably very good, although it can get pretty darn busy here. The wine list and the Greek wines are excellent. As long as Estia's is there, I will be going to it. I may not be Vetri's, but it is dependable and predictably solid. Like a comfy home.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estia Restaurant also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Estia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estia Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.