We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling family being out of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burbridge Street B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Burbridge Street B&B to your Saves list
Burbridge Street B&B
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   6324 Burbridge St., Philadelphia, PA 19144, Philadelphia, PA 19144 (Germantown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 27 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Feeling family being out of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Our three-day-long trip in Phillie got a plus thanks to this wonderful location. The owner and her cats are simply lovely and she is helpful and kind. Being in Germantown, you have the opportunity to exit the chaos of downtown spending less and enjoying this wonderful and quiet area of the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
14
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

If you are accustomed to room rentals through craigslist or Air BnB this is a good value for what you get. If you are used to professionally run inns you'll probably be more comfortable elsewhere.

There is no signage outside, the elevated porch has no railing, the inside is cluttered with the owner's personal items, and the room names are handwritten on signs taped to the door. There was hair from a hairbrush in our bathroom when we arrived. The room, though facing the street, does not have blinds or curtains and you can easily see into the room from the street. You share a bathroom and common areas with the owner, there is no separate innkeeper's quarters like most b&bs. All of these factors gave the impression that this is a personal residence first and renting rooms is a side business.

We chose to stay elsewhere, forfeiting what we paid for 2 nights. I have stayed at around 15 different b&bs and usually find negative reviews to be from overly critical/picky people, I have never left anything less than a glowing review before now. I just want others to know what to expect from their experience so they can make an informed decision about whether it's the right accommodations for them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian at Large
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights in the Burbridge Street B&B in the summer.
We had a great time. As pointed out in some other reviews, it is not the shiniest B&B in the USA. If you are annoyed by cats, you might want to think of staying somewhere else.
But the house has character, and attracts people who are the same. Breakfast around the table with Marney Hague and guests from around the world was a great experience. Everyone got into the spirit of the experience and we had some great conversations with people from near and far.
The real reason to stay at the house is Marney. She is a warm, wonderful and generous hostess, and expert and eloquent in the pros and cons of her city and neighbourhood. Her advice made our stay in Philadelphia more enjoyable. The city should declare her a local treasure.
Good transport to and from Philly is close by and easy to use, and on-street parking is plentiful and safe. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This house and neighborhood has a lot of character. The home has some really nice renovations, but the front porch has no railing and is high off the ground. There were no shades in the FRONT bedroom (just lacey sheers), which faces 2 VERY bright porch lights directly across the street. There was only breads and cereals for breakfast (along with some fresh fruit and decaying frozen fruit). The hostess knows a lot about the interesting history of the neighborhood.
Breakfast is only at 8AM

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from those bright lights if you like a dark room, or one with shades if the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for on evening only as we were in Philadelphia to attend a wedding then move on to Virginia. Marney, the owner was not in when we arrived but had left the keys for us. Our room was on the third floor. The room was clean and the bed comfortable and we slept very well.

It is located in an older part of town and we had no problem getting where we wanted to as we used a GPS. The area was very quiet and although the curbside could receive some maintenance attention we have no complaint about the area.

Room Tip: Anyone of the rooms on offer would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is exactly how a B&B should be: The owner is very friendly and gives your breakfast a personal touch. We sat around a nice round table and talked to her as well as to other guests. The rooms are very nice as well, as are the well-behaved cats. The only minor downside – depending on what you're looking for – may be the location, which is about 40min from downtown with public transport. However, German town is quite interesting in itself and the owner knows a lot about its history; which is to say you may get to know a part of Philly you wouldn't otherwise have known much about. To go downtown, you can take the train which will cost you 4 or 5$ one way or the bus, which may take up to an hour depending on traffic, for 2$. I will stay there again the next time I am in Philadelphia.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarneyHague2013, Owner at Burbridge Street B&B, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
The guest is very kind in his review, but I think I should point out that Germantown, my local residential neighborhood, is actually just 7 miles out from Center City by parkland drives, a pleasant 12 to 15 minute drive to the heart of the downtown area. From my local train station, Tulpehocken Station of the Chestnut Hill West line, it is only 20, 25, or 30 minutes by train to the 3 Center City stations. I always encourage my guests who come with cars to leave them here in the neighborhood (free on street parking on my block), and take the train instead... it's better for your pocketbook, your sanity, and a greener option as well. The local bus option (the #23 for Chestnut Hill) follows a much slower route, following a busy commercial corridor with traffic lights and stops at every corner for about 8 miles. I don't recommend it to my guests, as it often takes an hour or more to Center City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledgewood, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This old world B&B was filled with great antiques, lots of old world paintings and two sweet, friendly kitties! I was happy to meet Marnie and she was amazingly helpful, as I had a health issue and she was extremely accommodating as well as friendly. The home is located in a real old Philadelphia neighborhood with a real cobblestone street, great architecture and convenient to all the attractions Philly has to offer. Outside work is still in progress on the grounds, I can only imagine how lovely the back garden will look when it's done.
The fresh fruit from the farm market was delicious and the home ba

Room Tip: The room on the 2nd floor with the fireplace would be my personal favorite on my next visit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burbridge Street B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burbridge Street B&B

Address: 6324 Burbridge St., Philadelphia, PA 19144, Philadelphia, PA 19144
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > Germantown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Burbridge Street B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Burbridge Street B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burbridge Street B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.