We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dark Comedy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilma Theater

Wilma Theater
265 S. Broad St., Philadelphia, PA 19107
215 546 7824
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 262 Attractions in Philadelphia
Attraction details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Dark Comedy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I support the Wilma Theatre for their dark comedies that move people. My favorite is "The Vibrator Play." Great seating anywhere in the theatre.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The Wilma Theater Is Small and Engaging”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The Wilma Theater on South Broad at Broad and Spruce Streets is a well-designed and equally charming theater in Philadelphia, PA. There are roughly 300 comfortable seats with each seat providing the patron with perfect viewing of the stage. The theater is ideal for staging and performing dramatic plays.

Not only is the seating excellent, the sound system is also remarkable. I could hear and understand every spoken word, thus making me feel as if I were part of the performance.
However, the Curse of the Starving Class, a modern classic by Sam Shepard, is unpredictable and heavy hearted. Although there are a few light hearted moments, the story is mainly despairing and pensive. That said, I thought the actors did a wonderful job engaging the audience and bringing us into the lives of the Tate family.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Interesting off center plays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Great sets, costumes and acting in all the plays that Iv'e seen. Also, every seat in the house is fine. Now, I haven't been completely satisfied with their selection of plays (or even understood a few of them........)

That being said, the Wilma is great to have in center city.

Another plus is there are lots of good places to eat nearby. Mixto (Spanish) and Effie's (Greek), at 12th and Pine, are two we like on the east side of Broad St. There are others closer.

If you enjoy theater (and sometimes they have dance), then it's a good bet while in town.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Top Notch Plays at a Comfortable Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I've recently discovered the Wilma Theater on Broad Street, and the experience is addicting (I've been to 4 plays over the past 6 months). My husband doesn't enjoy musical theater - too artificial with people breaking into song all the time. He DOES enjoy well done plays, however, and we've been thoroughly enjoying the Wilma.

For not much more than the cost of a movie ticket you get a professionally acted play. Many are new works. The staging is terrific. The acting is terrific. The SEATS are comfortable! (Have you ever been to a broadway play and the seats are unbearable?) The staff is friendly: no snootiness or gawd-I'm-so-bored here from the tickets to the coat check to the refreshments.

There are several parking garages in the vicinity. I usually park at the Doubletree hotel next door. The Broad & Locust subway stop is steps away, too. Do something a little special. Skip the movie and go out to a play at the Wilma.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Small theater with great shows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We saw "Body Awareness" in January 2012 and sat in the front row. I was a little nervous about sitting in the front row, but it worked out fine. The theater is small and all the seats are good. They didn't use microphones, but I could hear everything. If you don't hear well, you will need hearing aids and/or the listening device provided by the theater.

I would go see another show here for sure!! You can even take your coffee into the theater (with a lid)... I loved that.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilma Theater also viewed

 

Been to Wilma Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilma Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.