We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Philly spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tria Cafe

Tria Cafe
123 S 18th St, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)
(215) 972-8742
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 3,786 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Café, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Center West
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Philly spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Tria Cafe is simply our favorite Philly spot. We try to rarely repeat restaurants so that we can try new things, but we gladly come back to Tria on a regular basis. It's a great place to come for drinks and a snack, with a great selection of beer, wine and awesome cheese that rotates regularly. Their snacks are fantastic, and the service is wonderful - very knowledgeable and friendly. The only downside is that it can be hard to get in on a popular night. Check out their Tria Taproom as well - where all beers and wines are from the tap and rotate as soon as they run out of one.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    90
    16
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Tachbrook, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Visited Tria twice for dinner during visit to Philadelphia in 2013. Wonderful atmosphere with superb selection of food and wines. We chose Bruschetta selection followed by Salads washed down with good wine selection. Staff were knowledgable and service good.
Would definitely return!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“A nice little place with lots of different beers and wines.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The restaurant is narrow, but deep. It was fairly loud when I was there with all the talking. They play music from the ‘60s forward, but it doesn’t try to drown out the crowd. The menus have lengthy descriptions, and you can look them up online before you get there. Seating is first-come, first-served. They also have some tables out on the sidewalk.

There are a lot of wines and beers on the menu. I started with an Allagash White, a wheat beer with orange and coriander flavors. I think that coriander goes well in beer, so I enjoyed it. I wasn’t sure that a salad would be enough, so I ordered the white bean spread with paprika crostini. The paprika added just a slight flavor and the bean dip was tasty. I was expecting a lot of garlic in the dip, but I didn’t taste any.

The smoked duck salad with pistachios sounded interesting. There were five or six long slices of nicely smoked duck, with strawberries and a nice hard Italian cheese. It came with a mild citrus-mint vinaigrette. All of the ingredients made for a delightful combination, though I enjoyed the pistachios the most. There were plenty in the salad.

I would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice place for a beer or wine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The wine / beer and salad selections are all delicious. We did not have dinner. It is on a great corner near Rittenhouse square.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wine bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Was in Philly for a wedding and the bride suggested Tria to us....one of her favorites. We went on a Sunday night and found they had some special half price wine and cheese. Sat at the bar and chatted with bartender who was very helpful. Enjoyed the specials and saved some money too. Very cool vibe and people watching.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tria Cafe also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Tria Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tria Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.