We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a light meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tria Cafe

Tria Cafe
123 S 18th St, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)
(215) 972-8742
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 3,843 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Coffee Shop, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Center West
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a light meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I ate at Tria during our first day in Philly. It's located in a pretty happening area; I've always loved how Center City has all the stores and highly rated restaurants walking distance to each other. When we arrived there was a bridal party that was doing a photoshoot in front of the restaurant (Tria has a really quaint facade, with big windows and the sprawling vines).

We ordered the claudio mozzarella sandwich with crispy prosciutto, the spicy crab-stuffed peppers and the sliced Italian meat platter. Everything was amazing and the portion sizes were just right. Didn't get to try their wine, but their beer selection was pretty impressive. I also did love the passionberry iced tea, which the waitress kept refilling every now and then. To top it all off, we had the espresso chocolate cake for dessert, which was exquisite and went really well with the coffee.

All in all, great ambiance, great food, at a very affordable price. I think we must have paid about $40 for everything. Not bad at all! Would definitely come back here the next time I find myself in Philly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    96
    17
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
“Excellent Dinner and Drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Really good dinner. Great music, atmosphere and food. Truffled mushroom with fontina bruschetta was excellent, and so was the duck and spinach salad. Enjoyed a Cigar City Maduro Oatmeal Brown Ale to top it off. Go for Sunday School - cool idea!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Another perfect evening at Tria!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

There are so many great places to eat and drink wonderful things in Philadelphia, but the easiest, friendliest, best of all is Tria. With several locations in Philly, this wine/beer bar with a delicious menu is also a very affordable evening out, pre-dinner or post-dinner stop. The small plates feature fresh, beautifully prepared and presented dishes of a wide variety; you can enjoy truly wonderful salads, veggies, meats and cheeses of high quality.

The staff here is phenomenal: smart, kind, knowledgeable, helpful. Our last evening here was all about the wines, and it is great discussing beverages and food with people who are excited about what's on the carte as you are. Go...you'll love it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“A perfect palce for a lovey light lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Cannot find fault with our lunch. We each had the Arugula, beet and goat cheese salad. We shared an order of lamb sausage and an order of chips. The salads were fresh and not overly dressed, so that the taste of the fresh ingredients came through.

The lamb sausage was served with white beans and a mint-feta sauce. Just a perfect combination. Not very larges, but perfect size to have with a salad. The chips had the right crunch to go with the rest of the food.

With the Bell's Two Hearted Ale on draft, it was a smashing success.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great presentation of food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

They have a very unique way of presenting their dishes, that make it practically look like art. A very tasty piece of art I may add. The service was great, and made wonderful suggestions "i believe her name was Brittney". The Restaurant was very elegant. I'm more than positive you'll love this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tria Cafe also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Tria Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tria Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.