We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful basilica, worth exploring” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Basilica of Saints Peter and Paul

Cathedral Basilica of Saints Peter and Paul
18th Street and Benjamin Franklin Parkway, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)
+1 215 561 1313
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$35*
and up
Ranked #3 of 262 Attractions in Philadelphia
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The head church of Philadelphia's Catholic Archdiocese is on the National Registrar of Historic Places. Pope John Paul II celebrated Mass here in 1979.
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful basilica, worth exploring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The basilica is beautiful. I was a little turned off by the U.S. flag hanging just inside the sanctuary. We attended a Sunday evening mass; overall it was nice, but not spectacularly inspiring. The basilica itself is worth exploring. It has beautiful arcades and a gorgeous domed ceiling in the central section; and the half-dome over the altar is beautiful.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    46
    15
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Inspiring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I've been spending time in Philadelphia my whole life, but never thought to go in and look at the Basilica. It's massive and beautiful. It's wild to think about how people must have reacted to it when it opened in the 1860's. I'm sure there are more impressive or inspiring cathedrals in the world, but this is a gem that's hiding in plain sight in Philadelphia.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pincourt, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“beautiful and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stopped in during our walk up the Benjamin Franklin Parkway. What a beautiful cathedral. Such a treasure of fine detail and craftmanship. Well worth some of your time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you love beautiful old churches, this is for you. Beautifully built and maintained. We stopped there off the big bus tour, had a nice lunch at the milk and honey cafe next door and visited the adjacent Natural history museum before continuing on the hop on/off bus tour.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful beyond words!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful churches I have ever seen! I have been to St. Pat's in NYC, St. Louis in N.O., Notre Dame in Paris, Westminster Abby, (but not the Vatican.) It was such a treat to walk in and see my children's mouths' (8 & 10) drop at the scale and beauty. We attended the 5:15 Sat. Vigil and they wanted to stay to tour the church after Mass - now that is pretty amazing at their age.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Basilica of Saints Peter and Paul also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Basilica of Saints Peter and Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Basilica of Saints Peter and Paul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.