We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Ants Pants For Us...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ants Pants Cafe

Ants Pants Cafe
2212 South St, Philadelphia, PA 19146-1145 (City Center West)
215-875-8002
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #891 of 3,780 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: American, Australian, Café
Neighborhood: City Center West
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: City Center West
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
407 helpful votes 407 helpful votes
“Not the Ants Pants For Us...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Café Quick Tips:
1. Recommended by a local on a TripAdvisor forum post I placed on ‘Good Places for Weekend Brunch’
2. Parking was tight…we drove through the neighborhood and finally found a free spot about a ¼ mile away
3. Hours: Weekdays: 0700-1500; Weekends/Holidays: 0800-1500 (breakfast available all day
4. How they deal with a line: we had no wait; however based on the tight quarters I suspect you would have to wait outside
5. Small seating area: About 9 tables for two in the main dining room and 6 tables for two in the outside atrium…tables can be pushed together for larger parties
6. menu available on their web page, plus daily chalkboard specials
7. Portion size: perfect amount
8. One unisex bathroom…very clean
9. Cash only

Although we found our dishes average in taste, the quality of the food was good and beautifully presented…there was just no oomph to them. Our order: ‘Dilly Eggs’ (had no dill taste); Bacon Stack; Coffee and a Latte. On both our way in and out I noticed a lot of the tables had orders of the sweet potato fries with some kind of dip (we did not try this; maybe a house specialty). The café prides themselves on their coffee and we enjoyed our cups. Several previous reviews have spoken of somewhat rude service; we had NO such experience. We never felt the slightest bit rushed; check backs were infrequent however. Be sure to read the back of your menu for some great Aussie facts!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“RUDE-RUDE-RUDE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have been going here off and on for a few years and one thing has stayed the same - the people and the owner are rude., cold and occasionally dismissive. Wake up - you are in a service industry! They think they are the young and hip, but they are wrong. I have seen them offend people and get away with it. No smiles, attitude and just average food. They better wake up - changes are coming in this area and they will have to think about customer service. Too bad - it could be a really nice place to go. I have talked to so many people who feel the same way and they still do business....until a new place opens.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghazni, afghanistan
1 review
“Fireants in My Pants Would Have Been Better”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Whoever thought having hipsters run a restaurant needs to get their head checked. Upon arriving, we weren't greeted by angry frowns and pursed lips, implying that our patronage was a bother! The food was less than mediocre - as dazzling as a gas station salad bar *zing*.

Overpriced, smelly, and dirty. Stay away or you might get bit.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor, mi
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love this place! Fresh, wonderful fare...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

Love this place! Fresh, wonderful fare! Crispy bacon and feta salad is awesome, with peppery arugula. Brekkie platter is amazing, with bacon. Great smoothies and sweet tater fries! Good value. Small space. Great service!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“GREAT sweet potato fries...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

GREAT sweet potato fries and coffee. yum!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ants Pants Cafe also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Ants Pants Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ants Pants Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.