We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Hotel in Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Philadelphia South At The Navy Yard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Philadelphia South At The Navy Yard to your Saves list
Courtyard Philadelphia South At The Navy Yard
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Intrepid Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #15 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Fairfax County, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“New Hotel in Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The hotel was built this year. It is very modern and fresh. We were on the fourth floor with a view of the bridge. If you like sports you might ask for a view of the stadium. I was disapointed in the resturant. It was more of a snack bar than a resturant. They did have a full bar and nice couches.
It is a perfect place to stay if you are going to a game. You could walk to the stadiums. The parking is free at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    24
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
37
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
charlotte, nc
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed here for the Collegiate Frozen Four Hockey Tournament. I had not been in this area of Philly in quite some time so was concerned about safety.. The area has really improved and is actually located inside the gates of the old Philly shipyard. There is even a sentry at the gate when you come in at night to check traffic so I would say its plenty safe especially in the daytime or if you are in a group any time.
Now this place is set off by itself. There is more building going on in the area so hopefully a restaurant other than hotel will open but you do have some good transportation options. First, there is a free shuttle to take you to either ATT Septa Station... this also near arenas... or to Center City. Center City only runs during weekday but is a great free way to get to historical sites. On weekend you take the shuttle to ATT station and its two bucks to get there. Shuttle does not run late into night so later you would have to catch a cab back or walk from ATT/ Arena area.. about 7 - 10 minute walk or a five dollar cab fare.

The staff is great.-will call cabs, check on shuttle schedule etc... One of the friendliest group I have been around top to bottom. The rooms are fairly large, new and very well appointed.
If you need a hotel close to arenas this is your place and with free shuttles you can get anywhere you need to in the city itself. Oh and its only a 15 dollar taxi ride to airport....

Room Tip: I would got o the higher floors for the view but no real issues with any room that I could mention
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek B, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South At The Navy Yard, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your positive review! We too await more dining options to come to The Navy Yard. Over by the sports complex, there are several restaurants, and on the other side of them, you run into South Philadelphia with a lot of restaurant choices.
We are glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel twice since they opened. It is very modern, clean and very nice ammenities. The rooms are nicely furnished. Each time we stayed the front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful We love the location as it is very close to Wells Fargo for hockey games and/or concerts as well as Xfinity Live. We will definitely stay here again and have recommended it to family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South At The Navy Yard, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you for the great comments about our hotel and front desk staff! We love hearing that our staff makes our guests feel welcome. Our location is especially nice when it's a beautiful day out since you can just walk right over to the ball game! We are happy to hear you enjoy staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The new Courtyard at the Navy Yard is a fine addition to Marriott's offerings in Philadelphia. The hotel is new, clean, and spacious. The modern king bed room and bath were very comfortable. There is a Starbucks in the cafe off the main lobby. The Navy Yard location is a distance from downtown but still reasonably convenient for getting around Philly (if you have a car). Also it's very close to the sports complex. The Navy Yard location, with it's "mothballed" warships is interesting if you have time to look around.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek B, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South At The Navy Yard, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for pointing out all the great features of our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a night while passing through Philly, and had no complaints. The hotel was essentially brand new, very modern and updated. Even though I checked in At almost 1am, the front desk agent was extremely nice. The only thing was that finding this hotel is like searching for the holy grail. We drove around for 10 minutes before finally asking a security guard, who then informed us that we had to enter through a gated area.. Which was weird but then you know it's safe.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek B, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South At The Navy Yard, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
One thing about being new is getting added to GPS systems and maps. We do sit is a gated community that is more closed off to traffic in the evening hours. We have been working with The Navy Yard to add signage to help you find us along with adding more signs around the hotel. The security team is here to help direct you to the property and we were glad they were able to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here over the Memorial Weekend in May 2014. We checked in with a friend and got 2 rooms on the 2nd Floor. My friend's room was fine but mine was totally gross. The room looked nice initially until we pull out the sofa bed. There were blood stains all over it! Housekeeper and staff immediately move us to a different room on the same floor. Since we have 2 young kids and baggage, it will be harder for us to move to a different floor. 15 minutes later, we moved to another room nearby on the same floor, a few doors down. This room was just as bad. I turned the comforter over to sit on the bed and a rubber-like condom looking latex fell out. I called front desk again and the manager came and assured me it was a piece of a latex glove, not a used condom. Ok, I can accept that. When I get ready to sleep, I turned the other side of the comforter and saw blood stains! OMG, I couldn't believe it. Housekeeper immediately took all the dirty linens and remade the bed. This is a classic example where housekeeper just flip the comforter around for the next guess without inspecting or replacing it. If I didn't have young kids, I would have left for another hotel. It was late and we were tired. The next day I filed an official complaint with the day-shift manager and she gave me a free night stay. So beware to all future guests! The housekeeping is sorely lacking and please inspect all linen.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie D, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South At The Navy Yard, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I can assure you that your room experience is not up to our standards. We have already provided the additional training to our housekeeping team for the future. As you stated in your review, we did take care of your room for you to compensate for the inconvenience we caused you. We hope that you stay with us next time you visit Philadelphia!

Katie D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel may be new and shiny but it's so far from downtown that our GPS and Googlemaps did not find it. We had to ask the leaf blower and maintenance people on the yard who say they are used to giving directions to this location. That's fine, but please don't call it the new downtown. That's a bold-faced lie. It's not downtown. It's in the midst of an abandoned Navy Yard and feels a little creepy on the weekends. We were quoted $179 but the taxes are insane so it came out to over $200. There is no pool and the walls are so thin we could hear the neighbors coughing. The window is quite small and there is not enough light in the room, and the TV is nice and large but placed inconveniently. The room is tight and cramped. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisWeney, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia South At The Navy Yard, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay. In reviewing your comments I noticed that you were under the impression that we were a downtown hotel. We are located in the Philadelphia Navy Yard which is home to 13,000 associates and is 4 miles from downtown Philadelphia and 1 mile from the sports stadiums.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia South At The Navy Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia South At The Navy Yard

Address: 1001 Intrepid Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19112
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Philadelphia South At The Navy Yard 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience modern style and historic charm in this dynamic city hub when you stay at our new, LEED-certified and eco-friendly hotel in Philadelphia's South neighborhood, the Courtyard Philadelphia South at The Navy Yard. Located just four miles from Center City, our hotel is the first in The Navy Yard's dynamic urban development offering a unique campus environment with a dedication to sustainability. Experience our state-of-the-art lobby and The Bistro – offering all-day dining, an evening bar and The Navy Yard's only Starbucks®. You'll also enjoy our South Philadelphia hotel's inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax. Tap into the free Wi-Fi throughout our Philadelphia South hotel, or get the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your visit to our hotel's South Philadelphia accommodations is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than ever before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia South At The Navy Yard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Philadelphia South At The Navy Yard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.