We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Pub” 3 of 5 stars
Review of McGillin's Old Ale House

McGillin's Old Ale House
1310 Drury St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-4520 (City Center East)
215-735-5562
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #259 of 3,724 restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $15 - $15
Cuisines: American, Asian, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: City Center East
Description: McGillin's Olde Ale House, Philadelphia's oldest continuously operating tavern, is known for large selection of regional beers, comfort food & friendly service.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Old Pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

A group of work friends went here after work. It was difficult to find. It looked like they haven't changed a thing for 100 or more years! Not your contemporary pub with all the bells and whistles. We shared wings which were very good. They also had $3 nachos which was a huge plate and very tasty. I ordered a JD and ginger which came in a very small glass and the overall bill was pricey for what we had. I wouldn't make this a destination place but if you're in the neighborhood, go!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    70
    75
    29
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very lively & LOUD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

This place is very loud & very crowded! The food was great! There's an upstairs as well and they play music as well. It's a mixed crowd there & a very active bar scene. We went with our three kids & I'm not sure it's the greatest place to go with a family but my kids did enjoy the loud & active atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“VERY loud, but great food and great prices...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Although this place is known more as a drinking establishment, I have to say that the food was great and incredibly reasonable. Nine of us ate there for dinner for under $120...ok, no one had anything to drink other than water and a couple sodas, but still you can't beat that. We were there on a Friday night and it was VERY loud..the music was loud and the people were loud, but everyone was having a great time so what's not to like. The atmosphere was really terrific and it's in a really quirky location basically in an alley so it might be a little tricky to find.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland IN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Went for lunch today and the food was great! Both meals were under $10. Large groups or tables for two....

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The location is tricky, but this bar which has been around since Lincoln accepted the GOP nomination around the corner is worth hunting for if you want a great beer and some decent food. Place can get packed and a little loud, but it's always a good time.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGillin's Old Ale House also viewed

 

Been to McGillin's Old Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McGillin's Old Ale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.