We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to shop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Italian Market

Italian Market
9th St. between Christian and Federal, Philadelphia, PA (Bella Vista / Queen Village)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #459 of 3,786 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: Italian
Neighborhood: Bella Vista / Queen Village
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Bella Vista / Queen Village
Seaford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I loved the idea that this was a place that I could get some great Italian goodies, as this is part of my heritage. Where I live, it is very difficult to find anything that is really Italian. Enjoyed the bakeries!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    32
    18
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
944 reviews 944 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
716 helpful votes 716 helpful votes
“favorite way to pass a weekend morning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

It's all here--and prices are good. Lots to see. Great place for photographs. Fante's is a must-see emporium for all things "kitchen." Claudio's and Di Bruno's are always good fun. Just fun walking around and taking it all in. Sarcone's is the best place for Italian sesame loaves, too. Passing time here has become a pleasant ritual, any time of the year.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“if you can't find it here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

open air vegetables, great meat markets, fish mongers, cheese stores that are really special. I like Claudio's It is a real Philly experince

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fresh Fruit and Vegetables year around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We are regulars at the market....... no longer what it was years ago, but still a fun stop. It is probably more for locals and their out of town visitors than tourists, but still worth a visit. Stop at one of the local coffee houses and be sure to stop at the little spice market..... if you can't find it there..... it does not exist.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great place to visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I love all the tiny little specialty shops. You can find so many things to taste and buy for you next meal. The wonderful aromas in the stores makes the trip worthwhile.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italian Market also viewed

 

Been to Italian Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Italian Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.