We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morris House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Morris House Hotel to your Saves list
Morris House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 S. 8th St., Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The Morris House Hotel is a wonderful place to stay. It is a beautiful house, well appointed and maintained, with many excellent features.
The staff were generally friendly, though one or two staff members seemed less than enthusiastic and even failed to come up with a basic hello. One the whole though they were helpful.
The public rooms of the house, the breakfast room and a small lounge, were well appointed and very comfortable. Breakfast was quite basic, but the cookies in the afternoon were a nice touch and delicious. One could even take a small jar of seeds harvested from the plants in the lovely garden to take home.
The room we stayed in (201) was in the main house and was large and comfortable. The furnishings were lovely and while the bathroom had seen better days it was spotlessly clean and large.
The hotel is perfectly located and many of Philadelphia's principal attractions are a short walk away. That said, the hotel is on a quiet street and has a peaceful air.
A very nice hotel, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    122
    17
    12
    7
See reviews for
65
217
32
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Very centrally located, easy walk to many areas. It was actually one of the best priced hotels I found in the area. The rooms are very well decorated, they are laid out a bit strange, appropriately because it is an historic house turned to hotel. I loved this aspect, but it is not a cookie cutter place. You will not lack anything, and the experience is great. The single bed rooms are too small for a family. Amenities too numerable to mention. I am a Hilton diamond member, and am extremely glad I broke my routine to stay at this unique, historic, comfortable and high class hotel full of history.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My family and I were visiting my sister in the hospital nearby. Morris house provided us a perfect, luxuriously comfortable stay, providing us much-needed relief. We felt extraordinarily well cared for. Lowell was the most polite and genuine gentleman and the food next door, superb. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Our daughter lives in South Philly and recommended several hotels near her neighborhood for us to stay during a midweek visit. One look a the Morris House online, followed by a phone-call reservation convinced me the choice was easy. But the historic home -- an oasis of colonial architecture amid the glass office towers surrounding it -- exceeded our expectations. Easy access. Friendly and helpful staff. Warm and comfortable public rooms. Complimentary wine in the afternoon at the cozy bar. A beautiful and comfortable suite overlooking the brick courtyard for a great price. And it's in a great, great location -- an easy walk to restaurants, attractions, historic locations. This is where we will stay on return visits to Philly.

Room Tip: Tiny complaint -- not enough surface space in the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with my SO. The house has a very warm feeling and is very clean and comfortable. Location is great - close to many restaurants, the liberty bell, independence hall, the national constitution center.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I stayed at the hotel over the Army Navy football weekend. The room was quite nice though I arrived late and it was difficult to gain access to the property. Given security concerns, this was understandable. However, the next morning, my guest and I attempted to have breakfast. The dining area was a complete mess. There was no place for us to sit. I was less concerned about the seating but the area had not been cleaned leaving no place for other guests to eat. Other than a few pieces of bread, the food was completely gone. It appeared that no one was in charge. My guest and I bussed the tables and got was little food was left. The hotel is quite beautiful and historic but I expected a bit more in regards to customer service. Simply ensuring that the dining area was clean and that some breakfast items were available would have made our stay much better.

Room Tip: The rooms were quite nice. We stayed on the second floor and we enjoyed the room. It was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was one of the best hotel experiences we ever had. It is conveniently located near the Walnut Street Theater. The hotel is beautiful and welcoming. Upon arriving, we sat by the fireplace and enjoyed complimentary coffee, hot chocolate, and cookies while taking in the historic charm of the first floor rooms while it was snowing outside! Our room was on the third floor and beautifully decorated in keeping with the architecture of the hotel. The staff was wonderful and kept the place looking fantastic both inside and out. Even with the old world style, it did have the modern amenities of wifi and cable television. We hope to enjoy this special place again in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morris House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morris House Hotel

Address: 225 S. 8th St., Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#23 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Morris House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national historic landmark, renovated into a luxury boutique hotel, offers cozy accommodations and elegantly combines 18th century charm with all of today's modern conveniences.The Morris House Hotel offers uniquely decorated rooms, complete with charming views of the private garden or city. Free Wi-Fi is included.Guests at the hotel can enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning and afternoon tea with homemade cookies. M Restaurant, located on site, features French-inspired cuisine and a garden patio.Only a short distance from the Morris House are some of Philadelphia's main attractions. Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell are moments away. A number of world-renowned restaurants, shops and theaters are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Morris House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morris Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morris House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.