We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful retreat!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morris House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Morris House Hotel to your Saves list
Morris House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 S. 8th St., Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Blue Ash, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful retreat!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My sister and I loved our stay at the Morris House room 203. The ambiance, staff and foods were wonderful. We started our morning with mini-quiches, cereal, delicious breads and potent coffee in a period style dining room before our days of sight seeing. In the evening, we returned to the beautiful and restful patio, sipped complementary wine and relived our day's activities. We also looked forward to the delicious home baked cookies after our wine. Because we ate late lunches (City Tavern and Penns Landing), we never tried the restaurant. We realized that we were going back in time and thus would need to take steps (rather than an elevator) to our room. An in-room coffee maker would have been welcomed -- we knew this in advance so brought our own mini-coffee maker. We totally loved our stay in this special hotel.

Room Tip: Room 203 is the first room at the top of the stairs. There's a TV in bedroom, but not the sitti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    114
    17
    12
    6
See reviews for
61
203
31
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I just checked out of this historic hotel; the building had another use before becoming a hotel. It was built in the 18th century.
Everything was very good. The room was very comfortable and I enjoyed reading old World Book encyclopedias from the '60's. The PATCO subway runs under the hotel and it rattled all the furniture in the room but I got used to it.
When I return home next year I will stay there with relatives. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had room 301. which was lovely and comfortable but up some steep stairs. We loved this hotel, the only thing we didn't like was how they served their breakfast. Self service in two separate rooms, I would have liked better bread and fruit.
Despite my reservations with breakfast, we could not fault this hotel for anything else. Room comfort, efficiency of reception staff with bookings etc. and the hotel's proximity to Independence Square was brilliant.
Taxi drivers struggled a bit to find it though, as you have to go beyond it to come back down a one way street.

If you don't like plastic style modern hotels, this one oozes old style charm and elegance

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuBois, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is the 2nd time I've had the pleasure of staying at the Morris House Hotel on South 8th street in Philadelphia.
The hotel is a huge piece of history and is decorated accordingly. it is comfortable and perfectly located right around the corner from Washington Square.
The best restaurants are just a block or two away and also close to so many historic locations.
The staff certainly knows excellence in customer service as they tend to every single need you have.
I love this hotel and would stay again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Courtyard. It is just beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for a month. Best vacation ever.This warm upscale well managed hotel offers comfort solitude efficient friendly atmosphere. Staff is excellent,gives individual courteous attention to all. Colonial rooms lovely. Near Wash Square park.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful two nights at the Morris House Hotel. Located downtown near Washington Square Park, it is in a perfect location to visit the historical sights of Philadelphia. The room was comfortable and cosy. Staff were friendly and helpful. Could not ask for anything more. Breakfast was good. Parking is across the street in a parking deck. Is on my list for a place to stay in Philadelphia.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I loved the Morris House Hotel. As a single (female) traveller I immediately felt at home. When you land alone in a foreign city it's a huge comfort to feel that the people you're staying with give a damn, and that's why I chose Morris House over the standard chains. I loved the period details, the sense of the past, and the feeling that you're sharing a bit of Philadelphia history (and I'm originally English!), The staff offer just the right balance of privacy and engagement, The bed was blissfully comfortable. The night staff could have been a little quieter, I felt, and the subway is as loud as everyone says if you let it get to you, but I was also excited to be in Philly and horribly jetlagged from Europe, so there's no way I was going to get a good night's sleep anyway for the first few days.

If you're solo, or suffering from the time difference like me, try a bite in the M bar next door. Not big, but perfect and delicious for a tummy that's not sure what time it is. I opted for the most local of cheeses, delivered to the door by the Amish farmer who makes it, and given a Japanese-style butterscotch paste (forgive me guys, it's late here and I forget the proper name) to go with it. It's very rare my food makes me go "ooooohhhhhh" ;-)

After a seriously good G&T - and I know my G&Ts - I got chatting with the staff, and also with the co-owner on the second night. I was impressed. I didn't have the best night's sleep ever at the Morris House, but I'm bitten by the Philadelphia bug, and having been there once I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I could avoid it!

Thank you!

Room Tip: If you want total quiet, the further away from the subway the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morris House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morris House Hotel

Address: 225 S. 8th St., Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#23 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Morris House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This national historic landmark, renovated into a luxury boutique hotel, offers cozy accommodations and elegantly combines 18th century charm with all of today's modern conveniences.The Morris House Hotel offers uniquely decorated rooms, complete with charming views of the private garden or city. Free Wi-Fi is included.Guests at the hotel can enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning and afternoon tea with homemade cookies. M Restaurant, located on site, features French-inspired cuisine and a garden patio.Only a short distance from the Morris House are some of Philadelphia's main attractions. Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell are moments away. A number of world-renowned restaurants, shops and theaters are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Morris House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morris Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morris House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.